UP Nagar Nikay Chunav: 43 new parties will contest in the city government, know their results so far

Lucknow: The bugle has sounded for the election of the city government. This time 43 new parties will enter the election fray. A total of 133 parties are registered with the State Election Commission, including new and old parties. However, the immediate or temporary registered parties have not been able to show any miracle in the results so far. In the 2017 urban body elections, 15 recognized parties tried their luck. The Aam Aadmi Party was registered in this before the 2017 civic elections. This time another recognized party has risen in the form of the Indian Union Muslim League. It was registered in 2021. In addition, there are three unrecognized political parties, which include the Democratic Congress, the Peace Party and the National Revolutionary Party.

  • Appliance Upgrade Days – Get up to 50% off on bestselling ACs & Refrigerators.

With the expansion of bodies, the number of political parties contesting elections has also increased tremendously. In the 2017 urban body elections, the number of parties that were provisionally or provisionally registered was 71. There were 27 parties in this, whose registration was done after the 2012 urban body elections, that is, these parties contested for the first time. But, this time the number of political parties showing interest in the urban body elections has increased. This time 42 temporary parties have been registered, which is more than one and a half times as compared to last time. In this, 22 parties have been formed within one year. 50% of the parties which got registered in one year have given their address of Lucknow. A party has been registered at the address of Madhya Pradesh only.

yet to threaten the results

The number of parties that have been registered for the time being may have multiplied, but the results are yet to show promise. If we look at the statistics of the 2017 urban body elections, the Aam Aadmi Party, which came as a recognized party, could not show any charisma. In the Municipal Corporation, AAP had won only three seats of councillors. In Municipality and Nagar Panchayat, the member won only 17 and 19 seats respectively. Two posts of Nagar Panchayat president also went to the party’s account. The performance of the erstwhile registered parties was very poor. Hindusthan Nirman Dal won one post of Municipal Council member, Rashtriya Olima Council 4, Bahujan Mukt Party 1 and Peace Party won 8 posts. The Peace Party also won two posts of Nagar Panchayat President, while the Swatantra Janata Raj Party won one post of Nagar Palika President. Apart from this, most of the parties were either getting votes cut or their candidates acted as dummies for the bigger parties.

These parties registered in one year

Log Party, Gandhian Peoples Party, Gandhi Ekta Party, Bhagidari Party, Sarvajan Hitaya Party, Bhartiya Shakti Chetna Party, Secular Party, Subhashwadi Bharatiya Samajwadi Party, Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party, Bharat Bharti Party, Yuva Vahini Party, Right to Recall Party, Akhil Bhartiya Sarvajan Hit Party, Nationalist Jansamaj Party, Apna Dal (Sonlal), Bahujan Maha Party, Swadhin Swaraj Party, Apni Jantantrik Party, Bharatiya Uday Nirman Party, Azad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram), Political Justice Party, Rashtriya Chanakya Party.

Get the latest news updates on Uttar pradesh

Scroll to Top