MP Bypolls Live: Voting begins in Khandwa, Raigaon, Prithvipur and Jobat, direct contest between BJP and Congress


  • By-elections being held in MP today, voting for one Lok Sabha and three assembly seats
  • Voting started from 7 am, will continue till 6 pm
  • Elaborate security arrangements were made for the polling

Polling will be held today for the Khandwa Lok Sabha as well as Jobat, Raigaon and Prithvipur assembly seats in MP. Around 26 lakh 50 thousand voters will decide the fate of 48 candidates. According to the instructions of the Election Commission, all the preparations for the by-election have been completed.

Live Update 9.30 AM: 14.18 percent polling till 9 PM in Raigaon
Tikamgarh District Public Relations Department has informed that 13.4% voter turnout has been recorded in Prithvipur assembly by-election till 9:00 am. Congress candidate Nitendra Singh Rathore along with his wife cast their vote at polling number 100 of Prithvipur.

Live Update 9.15 AM: 14.18 percent polling till 9 pm in Raigaon
In Raigaon assembly C of Satna district, 14.18 percent voting has been done till 9 am. So far, no untoward incident has been reported during the polling.

Live Update 9.05 AM: Peaceful voting in Prithvipur
The process of voting in the Prithvipur assembly by-election has started from 7:00 am on Saturday. Till now voting is going on peacefully. 198400 voters of Prithvipur Vidhan Sabha will decide the fate of 10 candidates today. Niwari Collector and Tikamgarh Collector have appealed to all the voters that they must all vote. Along with this, Niwari Collector Narendra Suryavanshi said that the elderly and differently-abled voters have been voted through ballot and arrangements have also been made for them at the polling stations. He said that the voting process is going on peacefully following the guidelines of the government. Coronavirus guidelines are also being followed. Under Prithvipur Vidhan Sabha, 306 polling stations have been set up in which the duty of sixteen hundred employees has been imposed for voting.

Live Update 8.15 AM: Congress candidate casts vote from Khandwa seat
Congress candidate from Khandwa Lok Sabha constituency Raj Narayan Singh casts his vote in his village Purni. His wife also came to vote.

Live Update 8.00 AM: BJP candidate reached Khandwa with wife to vote
BJP candidate from Khandwa Lok Sabha seat, Dnyaneshwar Patil along with his wife Jayshree Patil came to vote. He appealed to the people to vote in maximum numbers.

Live Update 7.30 AM: Voting begins, voters start coming
Voting begins in all seats. Few voters started reaching the polling booth to cast their vote.

Live Update 5.50 am: Elaborate security arrangements
For fair and peaceful elections, 914 Deputy Superintendents of Police, Inspectors, Sub Inspectors and Assistant Inspectors, 6992 constables and head constables, 3123 home guards and 3945 special police officers have been deployed in the election centers and constituencies.

Live Update 5.30 am: 58 companies of armed forces deployed
58 companies of armed forces have been deployed to conduct the by-elections in a peaceful and fair manner. As per the directions of the Election Commission, 50 companies of Special Armed Forces from outside the state and eight companies of Madhya Pradesh Special Armed Forces (SAF) have been deployed in the constituencies.

Live Update 5.15 AM: More than 26.50 lakh voters
There are a total of 26,50,004 voters in all the four constituencies. 3,944 polling stations have been set up for voting. Of these, 865 polling stations are sensitive.

Live Update5.05 AM: Voting from 7 PM
Voting will be held in Khandwa Lok Sabha and three assembly seats – Jobat (ST) in Alirajpur district, Raigaon (SC) in Satna district and Prithvipur in Niwari district – from 7 am to 6 pm. All the preparations for voting have been completed in the state.


Scroll to Top