Story of Congress President: Who fought till now, Gandhi-Nehru candidates also lost

The biggest issue in Indian politics right now is the election of the President of the Congress. The election for the post of Congress President is still being considered fixed. Now it will be interesting to see who will get the reins of the party as a non-Gandhi president after many years. Actually, there was no election for the post of President in Congress for a long time and now it is happening after 22 years. But, even when the first elections were held, their results were quite shocking.

In such a situation, today we tell you about the interesting elections of the Congress President, which were in the news a lot. Also know who contested for the post of President and what is the history of this post…

Subhash Chandra Bose Vs Pattabhi Sitaramayya

The talk of elections for the post of President in the Congress starts from the year 1939, many years before independence. This year, Subhas Chandra Bose had contested from Pattabhi Sitaramayya for the post of president and he won. It is said that at that time Sitaramayya was a candidate supporting Mahatma Gandhi. But, he was not happy with this post and he resigned from this post and after him Rajendra Prasad was made the president in the month of March itself. After this, Abdul Kalam Azad remained president till 1940-46, JB Kriplani remained president in 1946-47. After this the story starts after independence.

Purushottam Tandon vs JB Kripalani

According to the report of the Indian Express, when the country became independent, Pattabhi Sitaramayya was in command of the Congress after that. But, in the year 1950, elections were held for the post of Congress President. In this election, former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru supported JB Kripalani and Purushottam Tandon stood in front of him. Even after Nehru’s support, JB Kripalani had to face defeat and Tandon won.

After this, in the year 1951, there were reports that Nehru might resign from the CWC and the first general elections of independent India were in front. In such a situation, Tandon himself resigned from the post of party president and Nehru ji became the president of the party. After this, he was the President of the party till 1954. Then the leadership of Congress was in the hands of leaders like UN Dhebar, Indira Gandhi, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy Vs VV Giri

After this came the period from 1967 to 1977, which is called the era of Indira Gandhi. Congress saw a lot of changes during this period. He had a lot of differences with S Nijalingappa who became the President of Congress in 1968. After this the Congress broke up. Actually, there was an election in 1969, in which Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the official Congress candidate, Indira supported VV Giri and he won. The bitter Nijalingappa then expelled the incumbent Prime Minister Indira, leading to the split of the Congress into Congress (O) and Congress (I). At the same time, the Indira faction elected Jagjivan Ram as the president and he remained the president till 1972.

Indira-Rajiv period was

After Jagjivan Ram, Shankar Dayal Sharma and then Devkant Barua became the president. Then Indira Gandhi became the President in the year 1978 and remained the President till her assassination in 1984. Then Rajiv Gandhi got the command of the Congress and he remained the president till 1991 when he was assassinated. After this Narasimha Rao became the Congress President along with the PM. However, nothing was going well in the Congress.

Sitaram Kesari Vs Sharad Pawar, Rajesh Pilot

In 1996, Rao resigned from the post and made way for Sitaram Kesari, who had previously served as the party’s treasurer for nearly two decades. But, Sharad Pawar and Rajesh Pilot stood in front of him in the election and he had to face defeat. Sitaram Kesari won this election. He is the last non-Gandhi president of Congress.

Sonia Gandhi Vs Jitendra Prasad

In 1998, Sonia Gandhi got the command of Congress. When Congress President Sonia Gandhi was made in 1998, many leaders were angry. Jitendra Prasad was also among the leaders unhappy with Sonia Gandhi and Sharad Pawar, PA Sangma and Tariq Anwar were also named in this list, who left the Congress and formed the NCP. After the death of Rajesh Pilot, Jitendra Prasad challenged Sonia Gandhi, but the result surprised everyone.

He stood for the post of president against Sonia. Elections were held at the end of the year i.e. in November and they were badly defeated. A total of 7,542 votes were cast in the election, out of which she got only 94 votes and Sonia Gandhi won by a long margin.

Read more Knowledge News

Get the more Knowledge information