National Sports Awards 2021: 12 players including Neeraj Chopra, Sunil Chhetri and Mithali Raj honored with Khel Ratna, 35 athletes received Arjuna Award

Sports Awards 2021: Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra, Paralympic gold medalist Sumit Antil and women cricketer Mithali Raj and nine other players were on Saturday awarded the country’s highest sporting honor, the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, at Rashtrapati Bhavan. was awarded. In this event, 35 athletes were awarded the Arjuna Award. Chopra, who won the gold medal in the Olympics and the Paralympic hero, was given the Khel Ratna award in the presence of President Ram Nath Kovind, several ministers and dignitaries. A large number of names were named for the awards this year, which were decided earlier this month by a selection committee headed by (retd) Justice Mukundakam Sharma. 

These 12 sportspersons received Khel Ratna Awards
Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Para-shooting) ), Antil (para-athletics), Pramod Bhagat (para-badminton), Krishna Nagar (para-badminton), Manish Narwal (para-shooting), Mithali Raj (cricket), Sunil Chhetri (football) and Manpreet Singh (hockey) . Tokyo 2020 Paralympic gold medalist Krishna Nagar did not attend the award ceremony as there were speculations that her mother passed away on Friday. That’s why he could not make it to the function. 

These players received Arjuna Award 
Arpinder Singh, Simranjit Kaur, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhavani Devi, Monika Devi, Vandana Kataria, Sandeep Narwal, Himani Uttam Parab, Abhishek Verma, Ankita Raina, Deepak Punia, Dilpreet Singh, Harman Preet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birender Lakra, Sumit, Neelkant Sharma, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Varun Kumar, Simranjit Singh, Yogesh Kathunia, Nishad Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Suhas Yatiraj, Singhraj Adhana, Bhavna Patel, Harvinder Singh and Sharad Kumar are included. 

< p style="text-align: justify;">Dhyanchand Award for Lifetime Achievement was given to Athlete Lekha KC, Chess Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte, Davinder Singh Garcha (Hockey), Vikas Kumar (Kabaddi) and Sajjan Singh (Wrestling). Panjab University (Chandigarh) received the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAMA) Trophy for 2021. 

Read also:

T20 World Cup Final: Tomorrow there will be a title battle between New Zealand and Australia, know when and where to watch live streaming and telecast

Road to Final: Know how New Zealand’s journey in the 2021 T20 World Cup has been so far, which teams have got the dust.


Scroll to Top