Ahmedabad team meets Sanjeev Goenka in IPL thanks to CVC Capital Partners


  • Now 10 teams will play in IPL-2022, two new teams have been added to the tournament on Monday
  • Ahmedabad team bought by CVC Capital and Lucknow team by Sanjeev Goenka’s RPSG Group
  • Adani Group fails to buy Ahmedabad team, CVC bids bigger than it

Two new teams have been added to the Indian Premier League (IPL). The two new teams are Ahmedabad and Lucknow. Due to which Hay will play 10 teams in the next season of IPL. In the bidding held at the Taj Hotel in Dubai on Monday, CVC Capital Partners (Ahmedabad team) and RP-Sanjeev Goenka (RPSG) became the owners of the new teams of the world’s richest T20 cricket league.

This was confirmed by an official of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The IPL started in 2008 and has been growing in popularity ever since. It is currently the most watched tournament in the world.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said, “Indian cricket is developing more and we are very happy about it. This is very important for us. BCCI vice-president Rajiv Shukla said the addition of two new teams to the BCCI and the world of cricket would be a value addition. This is a great achievement for us. Uttar Pradesh has got its first team and Ahmedabad has also got its team where the world’s largest cricket stadium is located.

The IPL currently consists of Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals from the very beginning of the league. The Hyderabad team was formerly known as Deccan Chargers but due to a change in ownership, it was renamed Sunrisers Hyderabad.

New franchises Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala were added in 2010 and for a short time there were 10 teams in the league. A year later, in November 2011, it was announced that Kochi Tuskers had terminated Kerala for violating BCCI rules. The Pune Warriors withdrew from the league in 2013 due to a financial dispute with the board. However, from 2022, 10 teams will play in the league again.


Scroll to Top