Spain mandates 10-day isolation for those coming from some African countries

Madrid, Nov 29 (AP) Spain has mandated 10-day quarantine for visitors from seven African countries where Omicron, a novel form of COVID-19, was first identified.

Spain’s move comes at a time when various countries are imposing travel restrictions. However, much is unknown about Omicron.

The mandatory isolation will affect travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe who arrive directly via Spain or other countries.

Foreign Minister José Manuel Albers said more than 200 citizens who were in the region and whose flights have been cancelled, would be brought back to Spain by flights that are still operating in parts of Europe.

AP Amit Uma



Scroll to Top