Possibility of interesting struggle in many seats in Uttarakhand

Dehradun, Jan 24 (PTI) An interesting fight is likely in many seats after the announcement of the names of BJP and Congress candidates for most of the assembly seats in Uttarakhand.

Desperate to break the myth of no Chief Minister being able to form the government again in Uttarakhand, Congress working president Bhuvan Chandra Kapri is once again challenging the Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami from Khatima assembly constituency. In the last elections, Dhami defeated Kapri by a margin of 2,709 votes.

Former state president of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) S. s. Kler’s presence may make Khatima’s election riot more interesting.

However, political observers believe that it will not be so easy for the Chief Minister this time to retain the seat. In the first assembly elections in the state in 2002, except the then Chief Minister and Governor of Maharashtra, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, no Chief Minister has ever won.

Political analyst Jaisingh Rawat said, “Bhuvanchandra Khanduri could not save his seat in 2012 while Harish Rawat lost in 2017 from both the seats.”

Late Narayan Dutt Tiwari, the only Chief Minister of the state who completed his term of five years, did not contest the election.

Congress has once again fielded Satpal Brahmachari in front of State BJP President Madan Kaushik, who has always won from Haridwar city. The last time Kaushik defeated Brahmachari was in 2012. However, observers believe that this time due to the anti-incumbency wave, Kaushik may find it difficult to maintain his winning record.

Leader of Opposition in the state assembly Pritam Singh has been invincible till now from Chakrata assembly constituency but this time he is facing Ramsharan Nautiyal, father of Bollywood singer Jubin Nautiyal as BJP candidate.

Observers believe that Singh, who has a strong presence in the region, may face a tough competition from Zubin’s popularity.

An interesting fight can also be seen in the Srinagar Garhwal seat where Congress President Ganesh Godiyal and Cabinet Minister Dhansingh Rawat are once again face to face. Godiyal has defeated Rawat in 2012 but in 2017 Rawat won.

Sanjeev Arya and Sarita Arya are opposite each other in Nainital. However, the interesting thing is that Arya, who fought on Congress ticket in 2017 is now in BJP’s court while Sanjeev, who contested as a BJP candidate, is now in the fray on Congress ticket.

Col Ajay Kothiyal, who is being projected as the chief ministerial candidate of the Aam Aadmi Party along with the BJP and Congress candidates, may see an interesting triangular fight in Gangotri. Anyway, it is believed that the party whose MLA wins from Gangotri, that party’s government is formed.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top