WPL Season 1 Winner: Mumbai’s first WPL trophy – Delhi’s seaver thwarts fightback

WPL Season 1 Winner: Mumbai’s first WPL trophy – Delhi’s seaver thwarts fightback

WPL Season 1 Winner: Mumbai became the winner of the first Women’s Premier League (WPL) organized by the prestigious BCCI. Delhi Capitals   With a low score, the match which was expected to be a one-sided match became exciting. Although the target to be achieved was not huge, Delhi bowlers made Mumbai drink three ponds of water to score 132 runs. The match that should have been easy to win was turned into a thrilling one. Mumbai lost two wickets for 23 runs in chasing the target. Although runs were difficult to come by.. Nat Seaver (60 not out in 55 balls, 7 fours) and Harman Preet Kaur (37 in 39 balls, 5 fours) gave Mumbai their first WPL trophy with a class innings with patience. With this victory, Mumbai created history as the team that won the first WPL title. Delhi became the runner-up. If Delhi scored another 15-20 runs in this match, the result would have been different. Even though it was a small target, Delhi’s bowlers also made Mumbai sweat. In the second over of the Mumbai innings, the in-form   Yastika Bhatia sends  (4) to Radha Yadav pavilion‌.  Jonasen in the fourth over..   Mathews   Checked (13 off 12 balls, 3 fours). Mumbai scored only 26 runs in the first five overs.  

Too slow… 

Mumbai  scoring slowed as they lost two crucial wickets in quick succession.   Marijane Kapp, Jonasen, Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav bowled hard and it was difficult for Mumbai to get runs. Between the fifth over and the 9th over, only 19 runs were scored. Mumbai’s score crossed 50 runs as Harman Preet Kaur moved the first ball of Capsy’s tenth over to the boundary.  

After that Radha Yadav scored only four runs in the 11th over. Mumbai’s  run rate to be achieved  increasing  sewer,  cour route changed.     in the 12th over   Each got a boundary.   12 runs were scored in this over. In the same momentum, Kaur hit a four in the next two overs. 

Hydrama in the last 5 overs. ; While 44 runs were needed in 30 balls.. Shikha Pandey scored   8 runs in the 16th over.  Harman‌Preet  Going to take a run off the first ball of  Capsey 17th over  Run out.  With this the fans T20 World Cup  The moments when Kaur was run out in the semi-finals came to mind. Mumbai will also get the same result..? The fans of that team had a suspicion.  But  Sever  didn’t give that chance. Seaver hit two fours in the same over bowled by Capsy.  Ker  (14 not out, 2 fours) in the 19th over bowled by Jonassen made Badi’s target short by two fours.  Mumbai owns the first WPL after hitting a sewer four in the last over. 



Absolute scenes in Mumbai!#TATAWPL | #DCvMI | #Final pic.twitter.com/IQPngHg7z7

— Women’s Premier League (WPL) (@wplt20) March 26, 2023

Delhi Capitals who won the toss and chose to bat in this match scored 131 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.   Captain Meg Lanning (35) excelled in that team, while star batters like Shefali Verma, Alice Capsey, and Jemima Rodrigues failed.  But in the end  Shikha Pandey  (27 not out in 17 balls, 3 fours, 1 six), Radha Yadav (27 not out in 17 balls, 3 fours, 1 six)   Delhi got a fighting score as the lightning flashed.  Among the Mumbai bowlers, Issy Wang and Hayley Mathews took three wickets each.  

Get the more latest sports news updates

Scroll to Top