Why not Steve Smith run out..? MCC Clarity, what happened?

Why not Steve Smith run out..?  MCC Clarity, what happened?

The final Test of the Ashes Test series is shaping up to be interesting. After two days of play, both teams batted in the first innings. Initially, England were bowled out for 283 runs. Instead, Australia scored 295 runs. This gave Australia a 12-run lead in the first innings.

But the decisions taken by the third umpires in the Ashes series are becoming controversial. The dismissal of catches by Cameron Green and Steve Smith in the first test and the second test has become a topic of discussion. Again, Starc’s catch on the fourth day of the second Test.. giving not out led to controversy. The third umpire’s decision in the fifth Test has opened up a debate.

What actually happened..
England pacer Chris Woakes is ready to bowl the 78th over in Australia’s first innings. Aussie batsman Steve Smith played the third ball of that over towards mid-on. He tried the second run with Cummins at the other end. But the substitute fielder who was there, George Elham, quickly picked up the ball and threw it towards the wicket keeper. Jonny Bairstow also picked up the ball and took wickets. Steve Smith dives to reach the crease.

As it was not clear whether Smith was out or not, the field umpire reported to the third umpire. At first it looked like the bails were up before Steve Smith arrived. With this, it was decided that Smith was out.. The England players were happy. Smith also prepared to go to the pavilion. But the third umpire did not come to a decision so easily. After watching the replays for a long time, the third umpire declared Smith not out under the benefit of doubt. The English players, commentators and fans in the field were taken aback by this. Fans took a video of this runout and posted it. This has become viral.

This run out happened when Smith was at a personal score of 42 runs. Surviving that decision, Smith eventually scored 71 and was dismissed.

MCC reacted as the third umpire’s decision became controversial. According to the rules, when the ball hits the wickets, one of the two bails must be slightly above or to the side of the stumps. Only then will it be considered a run-out. In the case of Smith’s run out, it was clarified that not a single bail was separated from the stumps.

Scroll to Top