T20 League: KKR’s team will also be in UAE’s new T20 league, the name of the franchise also surfaced

Dubai: IPL’s Kolkata Knight Riders has acquired the ownership of operating a franchise in the upcoming T20 league of the United Arab Emirates (UAE). This franchise will be from Abu Dhabi and its name will be Abu Dhabi Knight Riders. This will be the fourth T20 franchise worldwide by the Knight Riders Group which already has T20 franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Major Cricket League (MCL).

The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) said in a statement, “The UAE T20 League is pleased to announce that Knight Riders Group has acquired the rights to own and operate the Abu Dhabi Franchise, and Abu Dhabi Knight Riders to As an integral part of the UAE’s premier T20 league.

The Knight Riders group of actors Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta bought the Kolkata Knight Riders franchise in the IPL in 2008, followed by ownership of the Trinbago Knight Riders in the CPL in 2015. Most recently The group had invested in MLCs in the US, with the group looking to franchise in Los Angeles.

Shah Rukh Khan said, “Over the years, we have been expanding the Knight Riders brand globally and are closely looking at the possibilities of T20 cricket in the UAE. We are excited to be a part of the UAE’s T20 league, which will undoubtedly be a huge success.