Rohit Sharma wins series as soon as he becomes captain, Virat Kohli’s record in jeopardy


  • Ranchi: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the second T20
  • An unbeaten 2-0 lead in the series under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma
  • 55 off 36 balls, KL laid the foundation of victory with Rahul
  • Equaled Virat’s highest 50+ score in T20

As the captain of the T20 team, Rohit Sharma is riding on the horse of fortune. He has won both the toss and the match against New Zealand so far. Winning in Ranchi has also captured the first T20 series. At the individual level too, Rohit Sharma is setting new records in every match. It has become the third highest six (450+) in international cricket, even in the fewest matches.

Rohit is the third highest hitter with sixes
Rohit hit five sixes in the second T20 against the Kiwis. He completed 450 sixes in international cricket during this innings. He is the batsman to reach this position in the shortest match (404). Chris Gayle (553) of West Indies has scored the most sixes in international cricket. It is followed by Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, who hit 476 sixes in his entire career. After Ranchi T20, Rohit Sharma has hit 454 sixes in international cricket.
Jalwa of Rohit-Rahul duo, India’s series win with a win in the second T20 match
Great start with Rahul
The opening pair of captain Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul played a key role in the victory in the second T20 match against New Zealand. The two had a 117-run partnership off 80 balls for the first wicket. Rahul scored 65 off 49 balls while Sharma scored 55 off 36 balls. During this innings, Rohit Sharma achieved a special place.

Rohit reached the equalizer of Virat
Rohit Sharma has now become the highest scoring player in T20I cricket with over 50 runs. This was his 29th 50+ score. Now he has reached the equivalent of Virat Kohli. Apart from this, Rohit has also scored four centuries in T20. KL Rahul scored the 16th half century of his T20I career in Ranchi.
Kohli’s record broken, Martin Guptill becomes the new king of T20
Rohit won both the toss as captain
Unlike Virat Kohli, who was troubled by losing consecutive toss, Rohit Sharma won the toss in the first two matches under his captaincy. This time too Rohit saw the effect of dew and decided to field first. The Kiwis lost six wickets in 20 overs and scored 153 runs. In reply, the Indian team chased down the runs and scored 155 runs in 17.2 overs.


Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top