Patel in New Zealand’s 20-man squad for England tour

Wellington, May 4 (AP) Spinner Ayaz Patel, one of three bowlers to take all 10 wickets in an innings in a Test match, has been included in New Zealand’s 20-man squad for the three-Test series in England next month. Is.

Patel took 10 for 119 in the first innings of the second Test against India in Mumbai in December last year. In this way he joined the ‘Elite Club’ of Jim Laker of England and Anil Kumble of India.

The left-arm spinner, however, did not play any Test match after that. He was not included in the squad for the home series against Bangladesh and South Africa as New Zealand preferred a fast bowling attack. Now he has returned to the team as the main spinner for the tour of England.

Players playing in the Indian Premier League will not be able to join the team initially, so New Zealand has announced a 20-man squad. These players will not be able to play in the practice matches. The number of players will be reduced to 15 ahead of the first Test at Lord’s starting June 2.

The squad has picked 13 players from 15 players who participated in the two-Test series against England ahead of last year’s World Test Championship. Batsman Ross Taylor and wicketkeeper BJ Watling, who were included in that team, had recently retired.

The team includes off-spin all-rounder Michael Bracewell, wicket-keeper batsman Cam Fletcher and fast bowler Blair Tickner, who has been selected in the New Zealand squad for the first time.

Captain Kane Williamson will join the team again at the end of the IPL. He played the first Test against India last year, but missed a Test match after that due to an elbow injury.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Will Young, Tom Latham, Hamish Rutherford, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Rachin Ravindra, Cam Fletcher, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Ayaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Jacob Duffy, Trent Boult.

AP Pant