NZ vs SL 1st Test: Sri Lanka kneel before Kane Williamson’s century, New Zealand won the first Test by 2 wickets

NZ vs SL 1st Test: Sri Lanka kneel before Kane Williamson’s century, New Zealand won the first Test by 2 wickets

NZ vs SL 1st Test Match Highlights: New Zealand won the first match of the Test series being played between New Zealand and Sri Lanka. New Zealand won this match by 2 wickets. In the second innings of the match, Kane Williamson played a brilliant century for New Zealand. He scored 121* and got the team to victory. Sri Lanka, who came out to bat first in the match, put 355 runs on the board. In response, New Zealand scored 373 runs. Sri Lanka scored 302 in their second innings to set hosts New Zealand a target of 285. 

New Zealand’s team came out to chase the runs and won by losing 8 wickets. In this, apart from Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell scored 81 runs in 86 balls with the help of 3 fours and 4 sixes. At the same time, Tom Latham added 24 and Michael Bracewell added 10 for the team. The rest of the team’s batsmen could not even cross the double figure. By registering victory in this match, New Zealand made the way to the final of the World Test Championship easier for India. Means, with this victory of New Zealand, the Indian team has reached the final of the World Test Championship. 

Hundreds in both innings by New Zealand

Both the innings from New Zealand saw excellent century innings. In the first innings for the host team, Daryl Mitchell scored 102 runs with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes. With the help of Mitchell’s century, the team managed to score 373 runs in the first innings. 

The bowling of both the teams

In the second innings, Asita Fernando from Sri Lanka presented a brilliant bowling performance. He took 4 wickets after spending 85 runs. Apart from this, Lahiru Kumara took 3 wickets for 76 runs. Whereas, Kasun Rajita got 2 wickets and Prabhat Jayasuriya got 1 wicket. 

New Zealand fast bowler Blair Tickner took 4 wickets for bowling in the second innings. Apart from this, Henry got 3 wickets and Tim Southee got 2 wickets. 

In the last innings of the match, good bowling was seen from Sri Lanka, but the bowlers failed to win the team. In this innings, Sri Lankan bowler Asita Fernando took 3 wickets in his name after spending 63 runs. At the same time, Prabhat Jayasuriya managed to take 2 wickets. Apart from this, Lahiru Kumara and Kasun Rajita took 1-1 wicket in their account.


Read also…

Team India in WTC Final: Sri Lanka’s defeat gave Team India the ticket for WTC final, now India-Australia will clash in ‘The Oval’

Get the more latest Sports news updates