INDW vs ENGW: Announcement of women’s team for England tour, Jhulan Goswami’s return and a new face also included

Veteran pacer Jhulan Goswami has returned to the Indian women’s ODI squad for the tour of England, while Kiran Navgire, who impressed with her attacking batting in the Women’s T20 Challenge, has been included in the shortest format for the first time. The Indian team will be on a two-week tour of England for a limited overs series. During this, she will play three T20 matches and as many ODIs.

Jhulan will play first ODI after World Cup
Jhulan Goswami, who turned 40 within three months, played her last ODI match against Bangladesh in the World Cup in New Zealand in March this year. His contemporary Mithali Raj retired after the World Cup while the fast bowler was not picked for the Sri Lanka tour due to injury. After this there were speculations that she might also retire but till now Goswami, who has taken a record 252 wickets in 201 matches, is ready to play.

Richa Ghosh’s comeback in T20 team
Richa Ghosh is back in the T20 team. Questions were raised over his not being selected in the team for the Commonwealth Games. Tania Bhatia, who was selected in his place, has made a place in both the teams for the tour of England. While Ghosh has got a place in the T20 team, Yastika Bhatia has been able to retain her place in the ODI team.

Who is Kiran Navgire?
The selectors rewarded Kiran Navgire for her outstanding performance in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Kiran, who hails from Maharashtra, plays for Nagaland in domestic cricket. She scored 69 off 34 balls against the Trailblazers for Velocity in the Women’s T20 Challenge, which included five scintillating sixes. She, along with Shafali Verma and Richa, can add new dimensions of power hitting to the Indian team. Veteran pacer Shikha Pandey and spinner Poonam Yadav were again overlooked.

such is the schedule
T20 matches will be played at Hove (10 September), Derby (13 September) and Bristol (15 September), while ODIs will be played at Hove (18 September), Canterbury (21 September) and Lord’s (24 September).

The teams are as follows…
T20 Team:
Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Jemima Rodrigues, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Radha Yadav, Sabineni Meghna, Tania Sapna Bhatia (WK), Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Dayalan Hemlata, Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh (wk), K.P. Navgir.
ODI Team: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Sabbinene Meghna, Deepti Sharma, Tania Sapna Bhatia (WK), Yastika Bhatia (WK), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Harleen Deol, Daylan Hemlata, Simran Dil Bahadur, Jhulan Goswami, Jemima Rodrigues.

Team India ftp 2023-27: India’s next 5 year schedule, 38 Tests, 39 ODIs and 61 T20s, is there a clash with Pakistan too?

IND vs ZIM: Flat pitch, pleasant weather… KL Rahul will hit four and six!

Get the latest more news updates on Sports