India won the first T20 against Ireland by 2 runs

India won the first T20 against Ireland by 2 runs

India won the first T20 match against Ireland by 2 runs. Ireland, who batted first in the first T20 which was held as part of the series of three T20 matches, scored 139 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. India, who came into the ring with a target of 140 runs, were 47 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 6.5 overs when rain interrupted the match. After that, as there was no condition to continue the match, it was announced that India won by 2 runs according to the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Batting first, the Irish team was overwhelmed by the Indian bowlers. Lost wickets regularly. Lost 5 wickets (31 runs) in 6.3 overs and fell into trouble. However, in the end, Barry McCarthy (51 runs, 33 balls, 4 fours, 4 sixes) and Curtis Compher (39 runs, 33 balls, 3 fours, 1 sixes) burst into play and Ireland posted a respectable score. Both of them scored 90 runs together.. the rest of the team scored only 42 runs together.

Indian young players Yashaswi Jaiswal (24) and Ruthuraj Gaikwad (19 not out) gave a good start in the target. India were 45/0 at the end of the power play as both of them played aggressively. In the seventh over bowled by Craig Young, Jaiswal and Tilak Verma (0) were dismissed in consecutive balls. The last ball of the same over started raining and the game was stopped. After that, as the rain did not subside, India was declared the winner according to Duckworth-Lewis.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah returned to the fold after a long break and rattled Ireland’s batsmen with sharp balls. Bumrah got 2 wickets.. Prasidh 2, Ravi Bishnoi 2, Arshdeep Singh 1 wicket. It is known that Jasprit Bumrah is acting as the captain for this series. The second T20 will be held on Sunday.

Scroll to Top