IND vs NZ 1st Test: Kanpur Test ends in a draw


  • Kanpur Test match ended in a draw
  • Rachin Ravindra and Ajaz Patel fought hard at the end
  • The Indian bowlers failed to take the last wicket in the last 8 overs
  • Man of the match for century-hit Shreyas Iyer

The first Test between India and New Zealand at Kanpur ended in a draw. The New Zealand team continued the second innings with a score of 4/1 on Monday, the last day of the match as part of a 284-run chase. The Indian bowlers failed to take at least one wicket in the first session but lost 8 wickets in the next two sessions but could not take the remaining one wicket at the end. In the end, Rachin Ravindra (18 not out: 2×4 off 91 balls) and Ajaz Patel (2 not out: 23 balls) showed great fighting spirit. In the last five overs the field umpire often monitored the light through the meter, and the match was very thrilling as the balls thrown by the spinners turned unexpectedly. The game was eventually stopped by the umpires due to a lack of light with a few minutes left in the game.

India won the toss and elected to bat first, scoring 345 in the first innings. Shreyas Iyer (105: 171 off 13×4, 2×6) scored a century while Shubhman Gill (52) and Ravindra Jadeja (50) hit half-centuries. New Zealand bowlers Tim Southee took 5 wickets, Jamieshan three and Ajaz Patel two.

New Zealand then went on to score 296 in the first innings. Only openers Tom Latham (10×4 off 95: 282 balls) and Will Young (15×4 off 89: 214 balls) scored significantly on that team. Among Indian bowlers, Akshar Patel took 5 wickets while Ashwin took three, Umesh and Jadeja four wickets. India took a 49-run first innings lead.

Shreyas Iyer (8×4, 1×6 off 65: 125 balls) and Saha (4×4, 1×6 off 61: 126 balls) declared the innings at 234/7 with half-centuries to spare. With that .. New Zealand stood ahead of the target of 284 runs. But .. the Indian team that seemed to win the match by allotting New Zealand for the draw .. could not take that single wicket in the end. Tom Latham (52: 146 off 3×4) was the lone scorer in the innings, followed by Kane Williamson (24), Ross Taylor (2), Will Young (2), Henry Nichols (1) and Tom Blundell (2). Among Indian bowlers, Jadeja took four wickets and Ashwin three. Akshar Patel and Umesh Yadav took four wickets each. The second Test will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from December 3.


Scroll to Top