IND v NZ, 3rd T20I: Team India eyes clean sweep, challenge to save credibility in front of New Zealand

IND v NZ, 3rd T20I: Team India's... - India TV Hindi
Image Source : GETTY
IND v NZ, 3rd T20I: Team India eyes clean sweep, challenge to save credibility in front of New Zealand


  • India is leading 2-0 in the three-match T20I series.
  • India had captured the series in the second T20 match by defeating New Zealand by 7 wickets.
  • In the first T20 played in Jaipur, India won by 5 wickets.

Kolkata| India have already taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. In such a situation, the hosts can give a chance to some reserve players, aiming to beat New Zealand 3-0 at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday. India took an unassailable lead in the series after winning the second T20I by seven wickets in Ranchi on Friday. It would be good to have a clean sweep ahead of the two-match Test series against New Zealand.

Rohit Sharma’s first series, the new captain of T20, has been the best so far. Chasing successful targets in Jaipur and Ranchi after winning the toss will be happy with the victory. He would like to do the same in Kolkata. Also, in the third match, he would be thinking of giving a chance to the reserve players, who could not be a part of the playing XI in both the matches of the series.

AB de Villiers made a big contribution in Harshal Patel’s brilliant debut, revealed himself

Opener Ruturaj Gaekwad, who made his white-ball tour debut for Sri Lanka in July and recently won the IPL 2021 title for Chennai Super Kings.

At the same time, Avesh Khan may also get a chance, who took 24 wickets for Delhi Capitals and was the second highest wicket-taker after India’s new youngster Harshal Patel. Then there is Ishan Kishan and Yuzvendra Chahal, who can be given a chance as the first choice. It can be expected that Venkatesh Iyer will also be given a place in the team.

The Eden Gardens pitch is considered good for batting, yet fast bowlers and spinners can get help. At the same time, there will also be a possibility of having dew factor. It is expected that the result of this match will also be like the first two matches.

IND vs NZ: Martin Guptill overtakes Kohli to become highest run-scorer in T20Is

Both the teams are as follows-

India team: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, Mohammad Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal , Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishaan Kishan.

New Zealand team: Tim Southee (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi.


Read more Sports News

Scroll to Top