IND v NZ, 3rd T20I: India defeated New Zealand in the third T20I too, cleaned up the series in the series

Image Source : GETTY
IND v NZ, 3rd T20I


  • India scored 184 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets.
  • New Zealand’s team was reduced to 111 runs in just 17.2 overs.
  • Captain Rohit Sharma scored 56 runs in 31 balls.

Kolkata| Axar Patel (9/3) bowled brilliantly as India beat New Zealand by 73 runs in the third match of the T20I series played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday. With this, India made a clean sweep against the Kiwis in the three-match T20I series. Batting, India scored 184 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets. In reply, New Zealand were bundled out for 111 runs in 17.2 overs. Opener Martin Guptill (51) scored the most runs for the Kiwis. Axar Patel took three wickets for India. At the same time, Harshal Patel took two wickets, while Yuzvendra Chahal, Venkatesh Iyer and Deepak Chahar got one wicket each.

Chasing the target, New Zealand had a very poor start, as they added 37 runs for the loss of three wickets in the powerplay. During this, Axar bowled brilliantly, sending Daryl Mitchell (5), Mark Chapman (0) and Glenn Phillips (0) to the pavilion early on. Tim Seifert, who came at number five, played with Guptill carefully.

Meanwhile, Guptill lashed out at the Indian bowlers with quick runs and completed his half-century, by which time the Kiwis had scored 68 runs in 10 overs for the loss of three wickets. Now New Zealand needed 117 runs in 60 balls to win.

But, Guptill was dismissed after scoring 51 runs in 36 balls with the help of four fours and four sixes in Chahal’s 11th over. Guptill and Seifert shared 39 runs in 35 balls. Thereafter, James Neeson, along with Seifert, led the innings to bat in sixth position. During this, Seifert (17) was run out after scoring a run.

Captain Mitchell Santner, who came in seventh place, got some runs for the team, but his teammate Neeshal (3) was dismissed after playing a poor shot off Harshal’s delivery. Adam Milne, who came to bat at number eight, supported Captain Santner. During this, New Zealand needed 102 runs in 42 balls. But, Captain Santner (2) was also run out. The Indian bowlers did not give the Kiwi batsmen a chance to survive and in the end New Zealand’s team 111 runs in 17.2 overs thanks to the unbeaten (2) runs from Milne (7), Ish Sodhi (9), Lockie Ferguson (14) and Trent Boult. But it was all out.

Earlier, the Indian team, who came out to bat, had a great start as the opening pair Captain Sharma and Ishaan batted very well. Together they added 69 runs in the powerplay without losing a wicket, but only after that Ishan became the victim of Santner after scoring 29 runs in 21 balls with the help of six fours. Suryakumar Yadav, who came at number three, also returned to the pavilion after getting out in the same over without opening the account.

Rishabh Pant, who came to bat at number four, played carefully with Captain Sharma, but Pant (4) could not last long and went on giving Santner his wicket. Shreyas Iyer, who came in fifth place, led the innings. Meanwhile, Captain Sharma remained on the field, taking the team’s score to 90 runs in 10 overs for the loss of 3 wickets. During this, Captain Sharma completed his half-century.

After this, India crossed the 100 mark in the 11th over itself, but captain Sharma was dismissed for 56 runs in 31 balls with the help of five fours and three sixes on a ball from Sodhi. Venkatesh Iyer, who came at number six, along with Shreyas took the innings forward with singles-doubles in the middle overs. Together, the two also played some big shots in the middle, as the team made 134 runs in 15 overs for the loss of four wickets.

In the 16th over, the Kiwi bowlers made a comeback and showed the way to the pavilion to Ventkesh (20). After this, Shreyas got out after scoring 25 runs in 20 balls with the help of two fours. Axar Patel and Harshal Patel, who came at number seven and eighth, batted slow in the last over, taking the team’s score to 156 runs for the loss of six wickets in 18 overs.

In the 19th over, Harshal opened his hands and hit Lockie Ferguson for a six at long off, but in the next ball, Harshal was dismissed for 18 runs in 11 balls with two fours and a six. Batting at the eighth position, Deepak Chahar batted vigorously in the last over and scored 19 runs, which enabled India to score 184 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets due to unbeaten runs from Chahar (21) and Axar (2). . At the same time, captain Mitchell Santner made three successes for New Zealand. At the same time, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Minley and Trent Boult got one wicket each.


Read more Sports News

Scroll to Top