If Gaikwad doesn’t hit a six.. the turning point in the win over Ireland

If Gaikwad doesn’t hit a six.. the turning point in the win over Ireland

Indian cricket team started the T20 series against Ireland with a win. Led by Bumrah for the first time in the shorter format, they won by two runs according to Duckworth Lewis. In this match, India won the toss and handed over the batting to Ireland. They scored 139 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

After that, India entered the ring with the goal of settling down. In the first over, Yashaswi Jaishwal hit two fours and scored ten runs. But the Irish bowlers who recovered later… scored runs. Only six runs were given in two and three overs. With six runs coming in the 4th over, they scored 22 runs without losing a wicket at the end of four overs.

But as the rain had already started, all eyes were on Duckworth-Lewis’ calculations. What if the match stops now? Did you get the runs you wanted? Questions arose for the fans. Commentators have also clarified this matter. 27 runs in five overs is likely to win according to Duckworth Lewis. Only 3 runs were scored in the first four balls. It was already raining on the field. Then if the match is stopped then Ireland will win.

But Ruthuraj Gaikwad hit a six off the fifth ball to change the equation. A total of 11 runs were scored in that over. As a result, the team’s score reached 33. According to Duckworth Lewis, India scored four runs more than the required number of runs. With this, the Indian camp breathed a sigh of relief. Even at the end of the sixth over, if India stands at 33/0, according to Duckworth Lewis, team India will win.

But the team India batsmen increased their pace as they thought that the match was going to be stopped due to rain. Jaishwal turned the equation completely in India’s favor by hitting a four off the 4th ball and a six off the last ball in the sixth over. But when Jaishwal got out in the second ball of the seventh over, Tilak Verma turned back as a golden duck. After that the match was stopped after two balls as the rain started again. By that time, India were 47/2 in 6.5 overs. According to Duckworth Lewis, even though the result was announced, India scored two runs more.

As the match started, the umpires finally declared Team India the winner according to Duckworth Lewis. With this, Ruthuraj Gaikwad won six, Yashaswi Jaishwal won four and six matches. India is currently leading 1-0 in the three-match T20I series. The second T20 will be held on August 20.

Scroll to Top