Gujarat Titans would like to ensure IPL playoff spot against Mumbai

Mumbai, May 5 (PTI) Points-toppers Gujarat Titans are on a winning streak to overcome their top-order shortcomings against already out-running Mumbai Indians in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match here on Friday. Will try to ensure a playoff spot by returning in

Gujarat Titans lost their previous match by eight wickets to Punjab Kings, breaking their five-match winning streak.

Till now, the consistency in the batting department, especially in the top-order, has been a problem for him throughout the tournament and now is the time for the new IPL team to rectify this gap towards the end of the league.

Despite the defeat, Gujarat Titans continue to lead the 10-team table with 16 points from 10 matches and a win on Friday will make them the first team to secure a place in the playoffs.

Young Shubman Gill failed to live up to the expectations at the top of the order while veteran Wriddhiman Saha, who replaced Matthew Wade, got off to a good start but could not keep it up.

B Sai Sudarshan, who was still the weak link for the team, saved the team in the last match by scoring 65 runs in 50 balls, in which everyone was unsuccessful.

Captain Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan also could not run against Punjab. Rashid has done exceptionally well and has been instrumental in the success of Gujarat Titans so far.

But this quartet is well aware of how important they are to the team. That’s why all four of them would like to bring the team back with a great performance.

Hardik has been a pillar of the Gujarat Titans’ batting, scoring 309 runs in the team but failing in two consecutive matches, he will be desperate to play a big innings.

Miller and sixes great Tewatia and Rashid will also be eager to prove themselves after the failure.

With the presence of Mohammed Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Alzarri Joseph and Rashid, Gujarat Titans have the most dangerous attack in this year’s IPL.

Shami has done well with the new ball despite the run-up loss in the previous match, while Ferguson’s ability to pick up extra pace will be a concern for any batting line-up.

Rashid has also been very economical in bowling but has not been very successful in picking up wickets which will be a matter of concern for the team.

Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, are at the last position in the table and are already out of the tournament after eight consecutive losses.

But the Rohit Sharma-led side must have breathed a sigh of relief after registering a five-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals which was their first win in the tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav has been Mumbai’s star in the batting department otherwise there has been a lack of cohesion in the batting unit.

Rohit and Ishaan’s poor form continues in the tournament while Kieron Pollard has not been able to do justice to his ‘finisher’ role in the season so far.

In the bowling department, the Mumbai team doesn’t look close to its best.

Jasprit Bumrah may have been economical but has not been able to pick up wickets which has been the most painful for the team.

Daniel Sams and Riley Meredith have done well in the middle and apart from Bumrah, Mumbai have no reliable bowler.

But now Mumbai Indians will try to spoil the equations of other teams in the remaining matches.

The teams are as follows:

Gujarat Titans:

Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Gurkeerat Singh, B Sai Sudarshan, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (c), Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Matthew Wade, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Wriddhiman Saha, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Dominic Drakes, Jayant Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmed, Pradeep Sangwan, Rashid Khan, Ravi Srinivasan, Sai Kishore, Varun Aaron, Yash Dayal.

Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Ramandeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thampi, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith, Tymal Mills , Arshad Khan, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Fabian Allen, Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Juyal and Ishan Kishan.

Timings: The match will start at 7.30 pm.