Women T20 Challenge: Mithali’s team Velocity lost to Trailblazers, Sophie Ecclestone burns

  • Post category:Cricket News

Mithali Raj Captain Velocity was defeated by the Trailblazers by 9 wickets on Thursday in the second match of the Women’s T20 Challenge. Sophie Ecclestone Thanks to the superb bowling of the trailblazers, Velocity’s innings was reduced to just 47 runs in 15.1 overs. After this, in 7.5 overs, the Trailblazers won the match by losing one wicket.

Wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh (13 *) hit the winning six while Diandra Dottin returned unbeaten after scoring 29 runs. The only wicket of the team fell to skipper Smriti Mandhana (6) who was caught by Casparek at the hands of Jahanara Alam.

Sophie’s fire, 4 wickets in shock
Sophie Ecclestone bowled amazingly, picking up 4 wickets for 9 runs in 3.1 overs. Apart from them, Jhulan Goswami and Rajeshwari Gaikwad took 2-2 wickets while Deepti Sharma got one wicket.


Velocity team all out for 47 runs

The limited Velocity team on 47 runs.
Mithali Raj won the toss and decided to bat first and her team Velocity was all out for just 47 runs. Jhulan Goswami gave Shefali Verma (13) the path of the pavilion in his second over. Jhulan, who came for the third over of the innings, bowled Shefali on the second ball. Shefali hit 1 four, 1 six off 9 balls.

Captain Mithali Raj returned after scoring a run
Velocity captain Mithali Raj returned to the pavilion by scoring just 1 run. He was lbw out by Sophie Ecclestone. She was dismissed as the second wicket on a team score of 19.

Showers of wickets, 5 wickets fell for 21 runs
The middle order also faltered after the Velocity team’s start was very bad and their 5 wickets fell to just 21 runs. Where the first wicket fell on 17 runs, the 5th wicket fell on the team score of 21. Veda Krishnamurthy (0) was dismissed by Sophie on the very next ball to dismiss Mithali. At the same time, Jhulan showed the path of Pavilion to Daniel Watt (13). Sushma Verma (1) was also bowled by Sophie.

Gaikwad jerks off consecutive balls
The sixth wicket of the Velocity team fell as Sun Luce (4), who was sent by Pavilion off the first ball of the 9th over by Rajeshwari Gaikwad. On the very next ball, Ms. Divyadarshini (0) was lbw out and the Velocity team’s score was 27 for 7 wickets. Shikha Pandey (10) was run out and the 8th wicket of the Velocity team fell to a score of 41. Then Ekta Bisht (0) was caught by Deepti on her own ball, who returned to the pavilion as the team’s 9th wicket. The team’s innings was restricted to 47 when Jahanara Alam (1) was lbw out by Sophie on the very first ball of the 16th over.

Read in Hindi

Leave a Reply