Suryakumar wins Mumbai .. Punch to RCB ahead of playoffs

  • Post category:Cricket News

Mumbai Indians are in full swing ahead of the IPL 2020 season playoffs. Suryakumar Yadav (79 not out: 10×4, 3×6 off 43 balls) hit a timely half-century against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday night to give Mumbai Indians a 5-wicket victory. Earlier in the day, opener Devdutt Padikkal (12×4, 1×6 off 74:45 balls) hit a half-century as Bangalore won the toss and elected to bat first, scoring 164 for six. Suryakumar, who remained at the crease till the last over despite Mumbai’s top order faltering in the chase, completed the winning formula with four with five balls to spare. This is the eighth win for Mumbai, who have played their 12th match in the latest season. It is the fifth defeat for Bangalore. Mumbai and Bangalore remain in the top-2 in the points table as well.

Mumbai Indians openers Decock (1×6 off 18:19 balls) and Ishant Kishan (3×4 off 25 balls, 1×6 off 25 balls) started the innings aggressively. But .. could not establish a better partnership. Saurabh Tiwary (5) and Krunal Pandya (10), who came next, also emerged. However, Suryakumar Yadav, who led the scoreboard in charge of taking wickets at one end, was careful not to widen the gap between balls and runs. In the end, Hardik Pandya (2×6 off 17:15 balls) hit two sixes and Suryakumar Yadav completed the winning run with 166/5 in 19.1 overs along with captain Kieran Pollard (4×1: 1×4). Among the Bengaluru bowlers, Chahal and Siraj took two wickets each while Morris took one wicket.

Mumbai captain Kieran Pollard, who had won the toss earlier in the match, opted for fielding. With that, Josh Philippi (33:24 off 4×4, 1×6) and Padikkal put on 71 for the first wicket in 7.5 overs to start the Bengaluru innings. The pair, who were giving up a boundary per over, were in a dangerous changing phase .. spinner Rahul Chahar .. overthrew the Philippines. He was stumped as he went outside the crease to hit the ball that was coming off. The next captain was Virat Kohli (9:14) and Bumrah bowled a huge shot to take the wicket. Shivam Dubey (2) and Chris Morris (4), who came in later, also disappointed as Bangalore looked to be limited to a low score of 131/3 to 138/6. But .. Gurkeerat Singh (14 not out: 2×4 off 11 balls) and Washington Sundar (10 not out: 1×4 off 6 balls) scored valuable runs in the end to help Bangalore score 164 runs. Among Mumbai bowlers, Jaspreet Bumra was the best with 3/14. Kieran Pollard, Trent Boult and Rahul Chahar took the wickets.

Read in Telugu

Leave a Reply