Maharashtra MLC Poll result: All five BJP candidates won, NCP-Shiv Sena two each, Congress one seat

Mumbai: In Maharashtra, the results of all 10 seats in the MLC election (Maharashtra MLC election result 2022) have been declared and after the Rajya Sabha elections, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government has suffered a setback here as well. The MVA pulled out five out of six seats while all the BJP candidates won. In the MLC elections, two candidates each from the ruling Shiv Sena, NCP, five from the BJP and one from the Congress have registered victory. Congress’ brother Jagtap registered victory while Chandrakant Handore lost.

BJP workers have started celebrating outside Vidhan Bhavan. Praveen Darekar, Ram Shinde, Shrikant Bhartiya, Uma Khapre and Prasad Lad registered victory from BJP’s side. Sachin Ahir and Amsha Padvi of Shiv Sena registered the victory. NCP’s Eknath Khadse and Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar also took out their seats. While Congress’s brother Jagtap won.

Competition between 11 candidates on 10 seats
The Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress, which are part of the MVA, fielded two candidates each, while the BJP gave tickets to five candidates. The term of nine members of the Legislative Council is set to end on July 7. Elections to the 10th seat were held earlier this year due to the death of a BJP member. A total of 11 candidates competed for these 10 seats.

fear of cross voting
Voting was done through secret ballot in the Legislative Council elections, so the possibility of cross voting has increased. In the Rajya Sabha elections, members have to show their ballot paper to the authorized representative of their respective party, but in the Legislative Council elections, the ballot paper was kept secret, due to which there is a possibility of ‘cross voting’. At the same time, doubts have also increased about whom the independent members cast their vote.

Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh could not cast their vote
Supreme Court refuses to release jailed NCP leaders Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh for casting vote in Legislative Council elections.

Get the latest politics news updates