Maharashtra MLC election: After Rajya Sabha, now in Maharashtra MLC elections too, independents and small parties will be seen, Congress claimed

Mumbai: After the Rajya Sabha, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government in Maharashtra has now faced the challenge of winning all its 6 candidates in the Legislative Council elections. For this, once again it has to look towards independent members and smaller parties. The term of nine MLCs is set to end on July 7, while the election for the 10th seat is being held due to the death of a BJP corporator earlier this year. Polling for these seats is to be held on June 20.

Maharashtra Congress President Nana Patole has claimed, ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi has made all the preparations, all our 6 candidates will come after winning the MLC elections. BJP has been misusing central agencies. We had received threats during the Rajya Sabha elections, are still getting it. We have the record, we will put it before the public at the right time.

11 candidates for 10 seats
A total of 11 candidates are in the fray for these 10 seats. Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress, which are included in the MVA, have fielded two candidates each while BJP has given tickets to five candidates.

Earlier on June 10, in the elections for six Rajya Sabha seats, the BJP under the leadership of Devendra Fadnavis had fielded candidates on three seats and despite the numbers being in favor of the MVA, the party won all three seats.

In a setback to the MVA, BJP’s third candidate Dhananjay Mahadik defeated Shiv Sena’s second candidate Sanjay Pawar. It is being said that independent members and smaller parties voted in favor of the BJP candidate, due to which the MVA candidate had to face defeat.

Voting will be done through secret ballot
The Legislative Council elections to be held next week are expected to be more interesting as voting will be done through secret ballot. In Rajya Sabha elections, members have to show their ballot paper to the authorized representative of their respective party, but in the Legislative Council elections, the ballot paper will be kept secret, due to which the possibility of ‘cross voting’ has increased. At the same time, doubts have also increased about whom the independent members will vote for.

Congress and NCP leaders are in talks with smaller parties and independents for support. He held discussions with Shiv Sena President and Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray for the last two days to fix the MVA strategy for the elections. The MVA wants that for victory in the Legislative Council elections, it does not have to look towards independent members and small parties till the end like in the Rajya Sabha elections.

Congress hopes from independents for second seat
At present, the strength of MLAs in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly is 285. Small parties and independents have 25 MLAs in their account. In the Legislative Council election, a candidate needs 26 votes to win. BJP has 106, Shiv Sena 55, Congress 44 and NCP 52.

The BJP has fielded five candidates in the election and can win four seats on the strength of its numbers, while Shiv Sena and NCP, which fielded two candidates each, can win two seats each. However, the Congress, which has fielded two candidates, can win only one seat on the strength of its numbers. To win the second seat, it will have to garner the support of independents and smaller parties.

Get the latest politics news updates