In a hurry, JDU made corrections in the first list, removed the name of Malegaon blast accused

Lucknow: Janata Dal United (JDU) on Tuesday released the first list of its 20 candidates in UP. But after some time, by amending it, the name of Ramesh Chandra Upadhyay, who was made a candidate from Bairia assembly of Ballia district, was withdrawn. Upadhyay is an accused in the Malegaon blast. JDU has not yet announced any other candidate from Bairia. Earlier, JDU was in talks with BJP to contest the elections but it failed. There is a coalition government of JDU and BJP in Bihar. JDU released its first list on Tuesday only after talks failed in UP.

Why the ruckus in the name of Ramesh Chandra
Major Ramesh Chandra Upadhyay, accused of 2008 Malegaon bomb blasts, is out on bail from the Mumbai High Court. He was released on bail by the Mumbai High Court 5 years ago. 2008 Malegaon bomb blast accused Major Ramesh Chandra Upadhyay had joined JDU on October 2020. He was also made the state convener of the Ex-Servicemen Cell of Uttar Pradesh. The Maharashtra ATS had also arrested retired Major Ramesh Upadhyay along with Sadhvi Pragya Thakur and Lt Col Prasad Shrikant Purohit for their alleged role in the Malegaon case. However, he was released on bail in 2017. At present, the trial is going on in this matter before a special NIA court in Mumbai.

The list that was released is as follows: 1. Sushil Kashyap Rohaniya Assembly Varanasi 2. Manoj Verma Gosaiganj Assembly Ayodhya 3. Arvind Patel Madihan Assembly Mirzapur 4. Anita Kaul Ghorawal Assembly Sonbhadra 5. Rabia Begum Bangarmau Assembly Unnao 6. Neeraj Singh Patel Pratappur Assembly Prayagraj 7. Ajit Pratap Singh Karchana Assembly Prayagraj 8. Rajesh Kumar Shukla Bhinga Assembly Shravasti 9. Atul Pratap Patel Robertsganj Assembly Sonbhadra 10. Om Prakash Gupta Shohratgarh Assembly Siddharth Nagar 11. Sushil Kumar Patel Madiyahun Assembly Jaunpur 12. Sanjay Singh Patel Chunar Assembly Mirzapur 13. Kailash Narayan Mehrauni Assembly Lalitpur 14 . Ramashray Rajbhar Bhatpar Rani Vidhan Sabha Deoria 15. Satish Sachan Bhognipur Assembly Kanpur Dehat 16. Sanjay Raj Patel Raniganj Assembly Pratapgarh 17. Dinesh Kumar Jagdishpur Assembly Amethi 18. Jagdish Sharan Patel Bilaspur Vidhan Sabha Rampur 19. Ashish Saxena Cantt Assembly Lucknow State Speaker Anoop Patel He said that more list of other candidates will be released soon. He said that full force would be used to make all the candidates victorious. It is the effort of JDU to field its candidates on maximum seats.

Leave a Comment