Vice-Presidential Poll: Voting ends for Vice Presidential election, 725 out of 780 MPs cast their votes

Voting ended today for the election of the country’s new Vice President. The counting of votes will start from 6 pm and then the results will be out in a few hours. 725 out of 780 MPs voted for the Vice Presidential election. Two MPs of the ruling party BJP- Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre who could not cast their vote due to health reasons. For the Vice Presidential election, the NDA government at the Center has fielded former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar, while senior Congress leader Margaret Alva is the candidate from the opposition.

At the same time, senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha member Abhishek Manu Singhvi wearing PPE kit due to corona virus infection reached Parliament House and exercised his franchise. By 2 pm, more than 85 percent of the MPs had exercised their franchise. The total number of members of the two houses of Parliament together is 788, out of which eight seats of the Upper House are currently vacant. In such a situation, 780 MPs are eligible to vote in the Vice Presidential election. Out of these 780, about 670 MPs had voted till 2 pm.

Prime Minister Modi cast his vote first

Prime Minister Modi was among the first MPs to cast their vote. Sharing a picture of voting, he tweeted, “Voted in the 2022 Vice Presidential election.” Home Minister Amit Shah, sharing his picture after voting, tweeted, “Voted today in Parliament for the post of Vice President of the country.”

Sonia Gandhi also voted

Congress President Sonia Gandhi and former President Rahul Gandhi cast their vote in the afternoon. Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, party general secretary Jairam Ramesh and several other MPs from the main opposition party also exercised their franchise.

Dhankhar’s victory almost certain

With the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) having an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and 91 members in the Rajya Sabha, Dhankhar has a clear edge over his rival. He is more likely to replace incumbent Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, whose term ends on August 10.

Get the more latest news updates