Thomas Cup Badminton: India created history, won Thomas Cup for the first time, defeating 14-time champion Indonesia


India created history by defeating Indonesia in the final match of Thomas Cup. India has defeated the team that won this tournament 14 times. The pair of Lakshya Sen first and Satwik Chirag gave India victory in the second match. After this, Kindambi Srikanth won the third match and made the Indian team the champion of Thomas Cup for the first time. Lakshya Sen defeated defending champion Antoni Sinisuka of Indonesia 8-21, 21-17, 21-16 in the opening match. In the second match too, the pair of Satwik Chirag also won 18-21, 23-21, 21-19. In the third match, Srikanth created history by defeating Christie 21-15, 23-21. For the first time in the 71-year history of the Thomas Cup, the Indian team became the champion. This tournament was being played since 1948, but till now only Indonesia, Denmark and Malaysia had made their team champion in this tournament.


The Indian team made it to the finals for the first time by defeating strong teams like Malaysia and Denmark. India had lost only one match in this tournament, when it was defeated by Chinese Taipei in the group stage. At the same time, Indonesia’s team remained unbeaten in this tournament before the final. Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also congratulated Team India for the victory.

Shrinkt defeated Christie

India’s Kidambi Srikanth registered a brilliant win over Indonesia’s Jonathan Christie. Srikanth won the first set by a margin of 21-15 and won the second 23-21. Srikanth remained unbeaten throughout this tournament. India won the first three matches. Because of this, there was no need to hold the remaining two matches.

In the second match, the pair of Satwik-Chirag also won.

In the second match, the pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty faced Kevin Sanjaya and Mohammad Ahsan. The Indonesian pair won the first set 21-18, while the Indian pair won the second set 23-21. After this, the third set was also won by the pair of Satwik-Chirag 21-19 and gave India a 2-0 lead in the match.

1st match: Lakshya won his name

The match between Lakshya and Anthony Sinisuka was very exciting. Anthony won the first set 21-8. At the same time, Lakshya made a comeback in the second set and won 21-17. Lakshya won the match by winning the third set by 21-16.

India-Indonesia final match schedule

Match 1 – Men’s Singles (Lakshya Sen gives India victory)
Match 2 – Men’s Doubles (Satwik-Chirag pair also won)
Match 3 – Men’s Singles (Kidambi Srikanth beat Johnathan Christie)
Match 4 – Men’s Doubles
Match 5 – Men’s Singles

The team that wins at least three matches out of five will be considered the winner. India won the first three matches, due to which the remaining two matches were not played.

Indian team in final match
Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Priyanshu Rajavati.
Doubles: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty, Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala-Krishna Prasad Garaga, MR Arjuna-Dhruv Kapila.