SL vs AUS: Sri Lanka won the ODI series against Australia at home after 30 years, defeating the Kangaroo team by four runs in the fourth match


Sri Lanka has won the five-match ODI series against Australia. He defeated the Kangaroo team by four runs in the fourth match on Tuesday (June 21). With this win, the Lankan team took an unassailable 3-1 lead in the series. For the first time in 30 years, Sri Lanka defeated Australia in an ODI series at their home ground. The last time they had won a three-match ODI series was 2-1 in August 1992.

Sri Lanka had lost the ODI series against Australia thrice at their home ground since 1992. The Kangaroo team was successful in winning on Lankan soil in 2004, 2011 and 2016. The fifth and final match of the current series will be played on June 24. Charith Aslanka was the hero of victory in the match for Sri Lanka. He scored the highest 110 runs.

In the match, Australia won the toss and decided to bowl. Sri Lanka’s team was reduced to 258 runs in 49 overs. Aslanka scored the first century of her career. He hit 10 fours and a six in his innings of 106. He received the Player of the Match Award. Apart from him, Dhananjay de Silva scored 60 and Wanindu Hasaranga scored 21 runs. Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins, Matthew Kuehneman took two wickets each for Australia. Glenn Maxwell got a breakthrough.

Talk about the Australian innings, the Kangaroo team was reduced to 254 runs in 50 overs. Australia needed 19 runs to win in the last over. Kuhneman made the match exciting by hitting three fours but could not score five runs off the last ball. Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka got him out on the last ball and won the match.

David Warner scored 99 runs for Australia. Warner hit 12 fours in his 112-ball innings. Apart from him, Pat Cummins scored 35, Travis Head scored 27 and Mitchell Marsh scored 26 runs for Australia. Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne and Geoffrey Vandersay took two wickets each for Sri Lanka.

Get more latest news updates