Rajya Sabha elections: Voting date announced for 57 seats, read how many seats in 15 states including UP will vote


The date of election for 57 seats of Rajya Sabha has been announced. The Election Commission said on Thursday that it has been decided to hold elections on the seats vacated by members who retired on different dates between June and August. For this, elections will be held on June 10 to fill 57 Rajya Sabha seats in 15 states.


Prominent among those who retired include Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Congress leaders Ambika Soni, Jairam Ramesh, Kapil Sibal and BSP leader K Satish Chandra Mishra. All of them are retiring between June 21 and August 1.

How many seats will be vacant from where?

11 seats are falling vacant in Uttar Pradesh. At the same time, six members are retiring from Tamil Nadu-Maharashtra, five from Bihar, four each from Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Karnataka. Three members are retiring from Madhya Pradesh-Odisha, two each from Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Jharkhand and Haryana and one from Uttarakhand.

Notification will be released on 24th May

The notification for voting will be issued on May 24 and polling will be held on June 10. As per the current practice, the counting of votes will take place an hour after the end of polling. Most of the newly elected members are expected to vote in a presidential election to be held sometime in July.

Click here and help improve the Amar Ujala experience by participating in this survey