Rajya Sabha by-election: BJP nominated former CM Biplab Deb for Tripura, voting on September 22

Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb will be a candidate for the by-elections to the Rajya Sabha from the BJP in the state. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced the name of Biplab Dev late on Friday night. Biplab Deb had resigned as the Chief Minister of Tripura in May this year. The news of the sudden resignation of Biplab Kumar Deb had created a stir in the national politics. After this BJP appointed Manik Saha as the Chief Minister of the state.

The Central Election Committee of the party has given its approval in the name of Biplab Deb for the upcoming Rajya Sabha by-elections in Tripura, said the list released by BJP’s national general secretary Arun Singh. The by-polls to the state’s lone Rajya Sabha seat in Tripura are to be held on September 22. The seat for which the by-elections are going to be held was vacant only after Manik Sah left.

Image as a big BJP leader in Tripura

Biplab Kumar Deb’s image has been as a big BJP leader in Tripura. Before resigning, Biplab Kumar Dev met Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi. It was believed that Biplab Kumar Dev had resigned from his post at the behest of the party leadership. Saha left the Congress and joined the BJP in the year 2016. In the year 2020, BJP also made him the state president of the party.

Get the more latest news updates