Questions on fairness in the election of Congress President, these 5 MPs including Shashi Tharoor expressed concern; written letter

Five Lok Sabha members of the Congress have expressed concern about the fairness and transparency of the process of election of the party president. He has urged the party’s Central Election Authority (CEA) chief Madhusudan Mistry to provide the electoral roll list of the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) to the poll participants and potential candidates.

Party MPs Shashi Tharoor, Manish Tewari, Karti Chidambaram, Pradyut Bardoloi and Abdul Khaliq have written to Mistry requesting this. The letter was written on September 6, a day before the Congress’ ‘Bharat Jodo’ Yatra. These MPs had earlier requested to make this list public, which Mistry flatly refused. Now these MPs have said in their letter that they do not mean to say that any internal document of the party should be issued in such a way that it can be misused in any way.

“We are of the opinion that before the start of the nomination process for the election of the President, the list of Electoral Colleges of the State Congress Committee should be provided to the voters and potential candidates participating in the voting,” he said in the letter.

Get the more latest news updates