Maharashtra: Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh get a setback from Bombay High Court, not allowed to vote in MLC elections

The Bombay High Court on Friday dismissed two petitions by state minister Nawab Malik and former home minister Anil Deshmukh seeking permission to vote in the Maharashtra Legislative Council elections to be held on June 20. Nationalist Congress Party leaders Malik and Deshmukh are currently in jail in judicial custody.

Justice NJ Jamdar heard detailed arguments of all the parties on Thursday and said that the verdict will be pronounced on Friday. During the hearing, senior advocate Amit Desai, appearing for Malik, had submitted that the minister’s case was a simple request to be allowed to go under security cover while in judicial custody for voting.

What did the lawyer say during the hearing?

During the hearing, Desai had said that although Section 62(5) of the Representation of the People Act prohibits people in jail to vote, such restrictions are due to material problems such as making security arrangements and in jail. To make necessary arrangements for transporting the imprisoned persons to the polls.

Related news

Will Malik-Deshmukh be able to cast votes in MLC elections? Bombay HC to pronounce verdict today

Maharashtra Legislative Council Elections: High Court will issue order tomorrow on the petitions of Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh

Will Malik and Deshmukh be able to participate in MLC elections? HC to issue order tomorrow

A woman cannot be forced to work just because she is educated: Bombay High Court

Women cannot be forced to work just because they are educated.

Rajya Sabha elections: Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh reach Bombay High Court for bail after a setback from special court

RS elections: Malik and Anil Deshmukh reach Bombay High Court for bail

Election to be held on 10 vacant seats of State Legislative Council

The biennial elections to the 10 vacant seats of the State Legislative Council are to be held next Monday. The electoral college consists of the members of the State Legislative Assembly for voting. A total of 11 candidates are in the fray, including five from the BJP, while the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress have fielded two candidates each (a total of six candidates from Mahavikas Aghadi).

Get the more latest news updates