Key Constituencies of Himachal Pradesh: Himachal’s seats where the reputation of veterans are at stake

Voting for the assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh is on Saturday. Along with the ruling BJP and Congress in the state, the Aam Aadmi Party is also trying to put up a strong performance. In some seats, both the BJP and the Congress are facing the challenge of rebels. Himachal Pradesh has seen BJP and Congress governments respectively during the last few decades. Over 55 lakh voters in Himachal Pradesh will decide the fate of 412 candidates in 68 constituencies. These include the state’s political veteran Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur, Vikramaditya Singh, son of former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and former BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti. Have a look at those seats where the reputation of veterans is at stake…

Siraj seat

The major constituencies of the state include Siraj seat from where Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur is contesting. Congress has fielded Chetram Thakur, who had contested from this seat last time as well. While Mahinder Rana is the CPI(M) candidate.

Haroli seat

Congress Legislature Party leader Mukesh Agnihotri is contesting his fifth election from Haroli assembly constituency in Una district. BJP has fielded state spokesperson Ram Kumar against Agnihotri from here.

Nadaun assembly seat

If Congress wins this election, then former Himachal Pradesh Congress President Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu is being considered as the chief ministerial candidate. He is contesting from Nadaun assembly seat. BJP has fielded Vijay Agnihotri from here.

Dalhousie Seat

Former Himachal minister and Congress leader Asha Kumari is contesting from Dalhousie. He is pitted against BJP’s DS Thakur and AAP’s Manish Sareen.


Senior Congress leader Kaul Singh Thakur is once again in the fray from his traditional seat of Darang. He is contesting against BJP’s Puran Chand Thakur and AAP’s Sunita Thakur.

Shimla Rural

Vikramaditya Singh, son of former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, is contesting from Shimla Rural. On the other hand, BJP has fielded Ravi Mehta from this seat.

Shimla Urban

In Shimla Urban, Congress has fielded Harish Janartha. The BJP has fielded Sanjay Sood, who has been running a tea stall near a bus stop here for the last 30 years. At the same time, Chaman Rakesh Ajta of Aam Aadmi Party and Tikendra Singh Pawar of CPI(M) are also in the fray.


BJP has fielded Ranveer Singh from Nurpur. He is contesting against Ajay Mahajan of Congress and Manishi Kumari of AAP.

Fatehpur seat

Congress’ Bhavani Pathania, who won the recently held by-election from Fatehpur assembly seat, is pitted against BJP’s minister and candidate Rakesh Pathania. The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded former Himachal minister Rajan Sushant.

Nagrota assembly seat

Congress candidate RS Bali is pitting against BJP candidate Arun Kumar Mehra in Nagrota. On the other hand, Umakant Dogra from Aam Aadmi Party is in the fray.

reconciliation seat

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Speaker Vipin Parmar is in the fray from Sulh seat. He is rumbling against Congress’s Jagdish Siphiya and AAP’s candidate Ravinder Singh.

Sujanpur seat

In Sujanpur, the Congress has again fielded Rajinder Singh Rana who defeated former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal in the 2017 election. From this seat, BJP has given ticket to Ranjit Singh and Aam Aadmi Party has given ticket to Anil Rana.

Dr. Janak Raj of BJP is in the fray from Bharmour. In front of him are senior Congress leader Thakur Singh Bharmouri and Aam Aadmi Party’s Prakash Chand Bhardwaj.

Jubbal Kotkhai

In Jubbal Kotkhai, Congress has fielded sitting MLA Rohit Thakur. He is pitted against Chetan Singh Bragta of BJP. CPI(M) has fielded Vishal Shangta and AAP has fielded Shrikant Chauhan.

Kasumpti assembly seat

Minister Suresh Bhardwaj has been shifted from Shimla to Kasumpti assembly seat. Congress candidate Anirudh Singh and CPI(M) candidate Kuldeep Singh Tanwar are also in the fray in front of him.

Get the more latest news updates