Jagdeep Dhankhar became the new Vice President, could not even get 200 votes, the opposition candidate Margaret Alva

West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar will be the new Vice President of the country. She defeated her rival and opposition candidate Margaret Alva. Dhankhar got 528 votes. Of these, 15 votes were invalid. While Margaret Alva got 182 votes. Dhankhar defeated the opposition candidate by a margin of 346 votes. Lok Sabha Secretary General Utpal Kumar formally announced his name by holding a press conference. However, the speculations of NDA candidate Dhankhar’s victory were being made from the beginning. A total of 725 MPs out of 780 exercised their franchise for the Vice-President’s election in Parliament on Saturday. 34 MPs from TMC, two from SP and Shiv Sena and one from BSP abstained from voting. Voting went on till 5 pm and counting started an hour later i.e. from 6 pm.

The race for the post of Vice President is also over. NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar will be the next Vice President of the country. She defeated the joint opposition candidate Margaret Alva by a margin of 346 votes. Dhankhar got 528 votes, Alva got 182 while 15 votes were rejected. Many leaders including PM Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah congratulated Dhankhar on becoming the Vice President. Celebrations were held at the BJP headquarters in Delhi on his becoming the Vice President. BJP workers were seen dancing along with drums.

Which MPs did not vote

A total of 55 MPs did not exercise their right to vote for the Vice Presidential election. Of these, 34 TMC MPs were involved. However, two TMC MPs took part in the voting despite orders from party chief Mamata Banerjee. These names are of Shishir and Divyendu Adhikari. Apart from this, two MPs from SP and Shiv Sena and one MP from BSP also did not vote. Two BJP MPs – Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre – also abstained from voting citing health reasons.

Singhvi arrived to cast his vote wearing PPE kit

Senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha member Abhishek Manu Singhvi wearing PPE kit due to corona virus infection reached Parliament House and exercised his franchise.

PM Modi casts his first vote

Prime Minister Narendra Modi first cast his vote after reaching the Parliament House. Apart from PM Modi, former PM Manmohan Singh cast his vote by reaching the wheel chair. Many MPs of Congress and ruling party, including Sonia Gandhi, voted.

Who is Jagdeep Dhankhar

Born in an agricultural family in a remote Kithana village in Jhunjhunu district of Rajasthan, Jagdeep Dhankhar’s journey to Vice President is very interesting. Jagdeep Dhankhar had reached Parliament from Jhunjhunu district of Rajasthan for the first time in 1989 as a member of the Janata Dal Party. During this time he served as the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs. In 1993, he reached the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly from Kishangarh in Ajmer district. In the year 2019, he was appointed as the Governor of West Bengal by the Central Government.

Get the more latest news updates