IPL 2020: Sunrisers Hyderabad’s easy win over Royal Challengers Bangalore, playoff hopes remain intact

  • Post category:Latest News

Wriddhiman Saha’s fruitful innings after Sandeep Sharma led the bowlers to impress, Sunrisers Hyderabad retained hopes of making it to the playoffs by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets in the Sharjah one-sided match on Saturday in the Indian Premier League. With this win, the Hyderabad team has reached 12 points in 13 matches and the team has reached fourth place. Royal Challengers Bangalore have 14 points from 13 matches and the team is in second place.

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 121 for five in 14.1 overs thanks to a 50-run second-wicket partnership between Saha (39) and Manish Pandey (26) after Royal Challengers Bangalore were bowled out for 120 for seven. Jason Holder also scored an unbeaten 26-run knock in the end with the help of three sixes and a four off 10 balls. Sandeep took 20 wickets from Sunrisers, while Holder took two wickets for 27 runs. Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem and T Natarajan took one wicket each. Natarajan conceded just 11 runs in his four-over spell. Bangalore’s team could score 49 runs in the last nine overs.

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians ‘captain’ Kieron Pollard told how long Rohit Sharma will be able to return

Apart from Bangalore opener Josh Philip (32), no batsman crossed the 30-run mark. AB de Villiers scored 24 runs. Sunrisers started off chasing the target as well. Captain David Warner, after scoring eight runs, gave an easy catch to Isuru Udana off Washington Sundar. Pandey appeared in rhythm from the beginning. He hit two fours on Chris Maurice after hitting a four and a six on Navdeep Saini. Saha also welcomed Mohammad Siraj with fours and sixes after hitting a four on Sundar. Sunrisers scored 58 runs for one wicket in the power play.

Captain Virat Kohli then handed the ball to Yuzvendra Chahal and he ended his 50-run partnership with Saha by sending Pandey to the pavilion. Saha hit fours on Udana and Chahal. He, however, missed an attempt to play Chahal’s ball and was de-stumped by de Villiers. He hit four fours and a six in his 32-ball innings. After making eight runs, Kane Williamson also caught Kohli on extra cover off Udana, leaving the Sunrisers score 87 for four.

IPL 2020: Quinton Decock did something that MS Dhoni remembered, see viral video

Jason Holder lowered the pressure on Udana and Saini with a six as soon as they arrived and brought the team score to 100 runs in the 14th over. Abhishek Sharma (08) also hit a six over Saini, but returned to the pavilion on the next ball. Holder then led the team to victory with a six over Chahal. Earlier, David Warner won the toss and decided to bowl first which was proved by Sandeep. Sandeep bowled the in-form Devadatta Paddikkal (05), after the opposing team captain Virat Kohli (07) was caught by Kane Williamson at short extra cover. This fast bowler has dismissed Kohli for the seventh time in the IPL.

Bangalore’s team could score 30 runs for two wickets in the power play. Philip, however, held one end. He also hit a four off left-arm spinner Nadeem after Sandeep and Holder. Bangalore’s team would have worsened, but Nadeem had a de Villiers catch on his own ball on a personal four-run score. Phillip completed the half-century of the team’s runs in the ninth over with a four over Nadeem. De Villiers hit a six over Nadeem after getting his eyesight, but trying to repeat the same shot caught Abhishek Sharma at the boundary. He scored 24 runs in 24 balls with a four and a six.

Phillip’s patience in the next over was also answered and he caught Manish Pandey at deep midwicket off Rashid. Phillip faced 31 balls with four boundaries. Bangalore batsmen struggled to play big shots throughout the innings. The century of the team’s runs was completed in the 17th over. T Natarajan caught Sundar (21) off his own ball in the next over, while Holder sent Chris Maurice (03) and Isuru Udana (00) to the pavilion. Gurkeerat Mann remained unbeaten after scoring 15 runs.

Royal Challengers Bangalore innings:
Josh Philip’s Pandey Bo Rashid 32
Devdutt Padikkal bo Sandeep 05
Virat Kohli’s Williamson Bo Sandeep 07
Abhishek Bo Nadeep of AB de Villiers 24
Washington Sundar Ka and Bo Natarajan 21
Gurkeerat Mann 15 not out
Chris Maurice’s Warner Bow Holder 03
Williamson Bow Holder 00 of Isuru Udana
Mohammad Siraj not out 02

Additional: 11
Total: Seven wickets in 20 overs: 120 runs
Wicket Fall: 1–13, 2–28, 3–71, 4–76, 5–106, 6–113, 7–114.

Hyderabad bowling:
Sandeep 4-0-20-2
Holder 4-0-27-2
Natarajan 4-0-11-1
Nadeem 4-0-35-1
Rashid 4-0-24-1

Sunrisers Hyderabad innings:
David Warner’s Udna Bo Pretty 08
Wriddhiman Saha St De Villiers Bo Chahal 39
Maurice Bow Chahal of Manish Pandey 26
Kane Williamson’s Kohli Bow Udana 08
Abhishek Sharma’s Gurkirat Bo Saini 08
Jason Holder 26 not out
Abdul Samad not out 00

Additional: 06
Total: 12 for five in 14.1 overs: 121 runs
Wicket Fall: 1–10, 2–60, 3–82, 4–87, 5–114.

Bangalore bowling:
Maurice 2-0-19-0
Beautiful 3-0-21-1
Saini 2-0-30-1
Siraj 1-0-12-0
Chahal 3.1-0-19-2
Fly 3-0-20-1

Read in Hindi

Leave a Reply