India vs Leicestershire Live: Third blow to Leicestershire, Siraj dismisses Kimber, Cheteshwar Pujara returns to the pavilion for zero


The second day’s play has started today in the four-day practice match being played between India and Leicestershire. By the end of the first day’s play, Team India had scored 246 runs in 60.2 overs for the loss of eight wickets. On the second day, on the same score, Indian captain Rohit Sharma decided to declare the innings.

Leicestershire’s first innings is currently underway. After 15 overs, Leicestershire have scored more than 50 runs for the loss of three wickets. Rishabh Pant and Joey Evison are currently at the crease. Mohammed Shami has given the first two blows to Leicestershire.

Shami first got Samuel Evans caught by Virat Kohli. Evans could make a run. After this, Cheteshwar Pujara, playing from Leicestershire, was clean bowled for zero. Pujara batted brilliantly in county cricket.

However, once again he was seen out of form as soon as he returned to international cricket. Mohammad Siraj gave Leicestershire the third blow. He got Lewis Kimber caught by wicketkeeper KS Bharat. Kimber could score 31 runs.

KS Bharat was the hero from Team India

Earlier, except wicket-keeper batsman KS Bharat, no Indian batsman could stand before the bowlers of Leicestershire. By the time the innings was declared, Bharat remained unbeaten on 70 off 111 balls and Mohammed Shami on 18 off 26 balls. The field umpires had decided to end the first day’s play early due to rain.

Apart from Bharat, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli got out after a good start. Virat Kohli 33, Rohit Sharma 25 and Shubman Gill got out after scoring 21 runs. Shreyas Iyer could not open the account. During his innings of 33 runs, Kohli hit four fours and a six.

Four players playing from Leicestershire

Ravindra Jadeja got out for 13 and Hanuma Vihari scored three runs. Roman Walker took the highest five-wicket haul for Leicestershire. Four India players Cheteshwar Pujara, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and the famous Krishna are playing in the Leicestershire squad for practice.

Kohli clashes with umpire

Kohli was visible in his complexion but missed to play Walker’s delivery. After a loud appeal, the umpire gave Virat out lbw. On this Kohli got angry and clashed with the umpire. The umpire gave the reason for giving him out. After that he returned to the pavilion. Kohli shared a half-century partnership for the sixth wicket with KS Bharat.

Why are Indian players playing for Leicestershire?

Four players from India have been included in the team of Leicestershire for this reason so that all Indian players can get full opportunity to practice. If all the players of Team India played from the same team, then some would have got less batting or bowling. To avoid this situation, four players from India have been put in the opposition team.

Both teams for the first practice match
Leicestershire Team: Samuel Evans (Captain), Rehan Ahmed, Samuel Bates (Wk), Nathan Boley, Will Davis, Joy Evison, Louis Kimber, Abidin Sakande, Roman Walker, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, Praneek Krishna.

Indian Team: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav.


Get more latest news updates