IND vs SA: India will go to South Africa to win the first T20 series at home, know the record so far


The last match of the T20 series between India and South Africa will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. This match is do or die for both the teams. At present, in the five-match series, both the teams have won two matches each and the team that wins the last match will win the series. At the same time, the losing team will also lose the series. India has not won any T20 series from South Africa in their country so far and Team India has a chance to win the T20 series against South Africa at their home for the first time. Earlier, India played two T20I series against South Africa at home and lost the first series, while the second series ended in a draw.

India’s record in the five-match T20 series is excellent. India played the five-match T20 series twice and won both. India won the series 3–2 at home against England, while beating New Zealand 5–0 at home.

Great comeback for India in the series

South Africa won both the opening matches of this series and India were in danger of losing the series. After this, India made a great comeback by winning the remaining two matches. India won the fourth match of the series by a margin of 82 runs. It was India’s biggest win in T20s in terms of runs and South Africa’s biggest defeat. Keeping this momentum intact, Team India would like to win the series by winning the last match.

South Africa’s record superb in Chinnaswamy

South Africa have an impressive record at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Only one match has been played between both the teams in this ground. In the year 2019, the African team defeated India by nine wickets at this ground. However, India’s Yuzvendra Chahal’s record is excellent at this ground. He had the best performance of his T20 career at this ground when Chahal took 6/25 against England.

Pant will be the contender for captaincy if India wins

Indian team captain Rishabh Pant has not been able to do anything special in this series. He has neither scored runs with the bat nor has done anything amazing under his captaincy. If India wins this series, Pant will join the race for future captains and strengthen his claim. Apart from him, KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya are the contenders to become the captains of the future. There has been no change in the Indian team in the first four matches of the series. In such a situation, it will be interesting to see that coach Dravid concentrates on winning this series and does not tamper with the winning XI or give chances to the rest of the players.

Probable teams of India and South Africa

India: Rishabh Pant (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Rituraj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Dwayne Pretorius, Heinrich Klaasen, Russi van der Dussen, David Miller, Marco Yansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabrez Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi.


Get more latest news updates