IND vs ENG: Rohit’s highest runs and Bumrah’s wickets, Pujara-Kohli failed, know what happened in the series


The fifth match of the five-Test series between India and England will be played at Edgbaston from July 1 to 5. Team India went on a tour of England in August-September last year. Then the last match of the five-Test series could not be played. The match was postponed due to coronavirus. The same match will now be held at Edgbaston. Here we are telling you about what happened in the series so far, who took the most wickets and who scored the most runs.

Joe Root
– Photo : Social Media
What happened in the four matches of the series?
First Test:
The series started in Nottingham. England won the toss and decided to bat first. Thanks to Joe Root’s 64, the hosts scored 183 runs in the first innings. For India, Jasprit Bumrah took four, Mohammed Shami took three, Shardul Thakur took two and Mohammad Siraj took one wicket. Team India was reduced to 278 runs in the first innings. For that, KL Rahul scored 84 and Ravindra Jadeja scored 56. For England, Ollie Robinson took five and James Anderson took four. India got a lead of 95 runs.

In the second innings, English scored 303 runs. Joe Root scored 109 runs. For India, Bumrah took five, Siraj-Shardul took two and Shami took one wicket. He set a target of 209 runs for India to win. The team scored 52 runs for one wicket in the second innings. Rahul scored 26, Rohit scored 12 not out and Pujara scored 12 not out. Broad had a breakthrough. The match ended in a draw. Joe Root received the Player of the Match award.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul
– Photo : Social Media
Second Test: The second match of the series was held at Lord’s, London. England won the toss and elected to bowl. India scored 364 runs. KL Rahul scored 129, Rohit Sharma scored 83, Virat Kohli scored 42 and Ravindra Jadeja scored 40. For England, Anderson took five, Robinson took two, Mark Wood took two and Moeen Ali took one. At the same time, the England team scored 391 runs in the first innings. Joe Root scored 180 runs. Jonny Bairstow scored 57 and Rory Burns made 49. For India, Siraj took four, Ishant took three and Shami took two wickets. England got a 27-run lead in the first innings.

India declared their second innings at 298 for eight. Ajinkya Rahane scored 61, Mohammed Shami scored 56 not out, Cheteshwar Pujara scored 45 and Bumrah scored 34 not out. For England, Mark Wood took three, Robinson and Moeen took two wickets each and Sam Curran took one wicket. England got the target of 272 runs, but they were bundled out for 120 runs. Joe Root scored 33 and Jos Buttler scored 25. For India, Siraj took four, Bumrah took three, Ishant took two and Shami took one wicket. The Indian team went 1-0 up in the series after winning the Lord’s Test by 151 runs. Virat Kohli became the third captain of India after Kapil Dev and Mahendra Singh Dhoni to win a Test at Lord’s. KL Rahul was adjudged the player of the match.

Ollie Robinson
Ollie Robinson
– Photo : Social Media
Third Test: After Nottingham, the third Test was played at Headingley, Leeds. India won the toss and decided to bat. Team India were bundled out for 78 runs in the first innings. Rohit scored 19 and Rahane made 18. No other batsman could touch the double figures. Anderson and Craig Overton took three wickets each. Robinson and Karan got two successes each. England scored 432 runs in the first innings. Joe Root scored 121, David Malan scored 70, Haseeb Hameed scored 68 and Rory Burns scored 61. For India, Shami took four, Bumrah-Siraj and Jadeja took two wickets each. The English team took a lead of 354 runs.

The Indian team was all out for 278 runs in the second innings. Pujara scored 91, Rohit 59, Kohli 55 and Jadeja 30. For England, Robinson took five, Overton three, Anderson and Moeen took one wicket each. Team India lost the match by an innings and 76 runs. England leveled the series at 1-1. Robinson was adjudged player of the match.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma
– Photo : Social Media
Fourth Test: The fourth match of the series was played at Kennington Oval in London. England won the toss and decided to bowl first. Indian team was reduced to 191 runs. Shardul Thakur scored 57 and Kohli scored 50. For England, Chris Woakes took four, Robinson three, Anderson and Overton took one wicket each. England’s team scored 290 runs in the first innings. Ollie Pope scored 81 and Chris Woakes scored 50. For India, Umesh Yadav took three, Bumrah and Jadeja two each, Shardul and Siraj took one wicket each. England got a lead of 99 runs.

India made a great comeback in the second innings and scored 466 runs. Rohit scored 127, Pujara scored 61, Shardul 60, Pant scored 50 and Kohli scored 44. Woakes took three wickets for England. Moeen and Robinson had two successes each. Anderson, Root and Overton took one wicket each. England got a target of 268 runs to win. She was reduced to 210 runs. Team India won by 157 runs. Haseeb Hameed scored 63 and Rory Burns scored 50 for England. Umesh took three wickets for India. Bumrah, Jadeja and Shardul got two successes each. Rohit was adjudged the player of the match.

Joe Root
Joe Root
– Photo : Social Media
Who is ahead in scoring runs in the series?

Talking about the most runs, former England captain Joe Root is at the forefront. Root scored 564 runs in four matches at an average of 94. He scored three centuries. Talking about India, Rohit Sharma is at the forefront. He scored 368 runs in four matches. Rohit’s average was 52.47. He has a century in his account. Interestingly, Root was the captain in those four matches. This time Root will have to play under the captaincy of Ben Stokes. At the same time, Rohit is the captain this time. Kohli will play under his captaincy.

Top 10 batsmen with most runs in the series

player Country match Run average
Joe Root England 4 564 94.00
Rohit Sharma India 4 368 52.57
KL Rahul India 4 315 39.38
Cheteshwar Pujara India 4 227 32.43
Virat Kohli India 4 218 31.14
Jonny Bairstow England 4 184 26.29
Rory Burns England 4 183 26.14
Ravindra Jadeja India 4 160 22.86
Rishabh Pant India 4 146 20.86
Haseeb Hameed England 2 140 28.00

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah
– Photo : social media
Who is the frontrunner among bowlers?

Like batting, the first place in the bowling list is also the players of England. Olly Robinson is at the top with 21 wickets in four matches. He took five or more wickets in an innings twice. His average is 21.33. Jasprit Bumrah is on top in this matter from India. He has taken 18 wickets in four matches. Bumrah is with the team in this series. Looking at the overall record, Bumrah is second only to Robinson in the list.

Top 10 bowlers with highest wicket takers in the series

player Country match wicket average
Ollie Robinson England 4 21 21.33
Jasprit Bumrah India 4 18 20.83
James Anderson England 4 15 24.67
Mohammad Siraj India 4 14 30.71
Mohammed Shami India 3 11 27.55
Craig Overton England 2 8 21.00
Chris Woakes England 1 7 19.71
Shardul Thakur India 2 7 22.00
Ravindra Jadeja India 2 6 45.33
Moeen Ali England 3 6 49.83

Get more latest news updates