Honor: Pulitzer Prize awarded to four Indians, including photojournalist Danish, Siddiqui was killed by Taliban


Four Indians, including late photojournalist Danish Siddiqui, have been honored with the prestigious Pulitzer Prize 2022 in the feature photography category. Danish Siddiqui was killed last year during a coverage of the conflict during the Taliban’s capture of power in Afghanistan.


According to America’s prestigious Pulitzer Prize website, Siddiqui and his associates Adnan Abidi, Sana Irshad Mattoo and Amit Dave of Reuters news agency have been selected for this award. Danish Siddiqui, 38, was on duty in Afghanistan. He was assassinated last July while covering skirmishes between Afghan troops and the Taliban in the Spin Boldak district of Kandahar city.

Danish got this honor for the second time

This is the second time Siddiqui has won the Pulitzer Prize. He was awarded this prestigious award in 2018 as part of the Reuters team for his coverage of the Rohingya crisis. He had extensively covered the Afghanistan conflict, the Hong Kong protests and other major events in Asia, the Middle East and Europe.

Danish Siddiqui did his graduation in economics from Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi. After this, he took a degree from Jamia’s AJK Mass Communication Research Center in 2007. He started his career as a correspondent for television news, later he turned to photo journalism. In 2010, he joined Reuters as an intern. ,

The Pulitzer Prize is America’s highest award in the field of journalism. It started from 1917.

Complete List of Winners in Journalism

public service

WINNER: The Washington Post, January 6, 2021 for reporting the attack on Capitol Hill

breaking news reporting

Winner: Miami Herald employee for coverage of the collapse of seaside apartment towers in Florida

investigative reporting

WINNER: Rebecca Woolington’s Corey G. Johnson and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times have received an award for highlighting the highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant.

explanatory reporting

WINNER: Quanta magazine employees, especially Natalie Wolchower, received the honor for reporting on how the Inco Webb Space Telescope works.

local reporting

Winners: Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune for reporting on Chicago’s unfinished building and fire safety

national reporting

the winner:

Employees of The New York Times

international reporting

Winner: The New York Times Employees

feature writing

Winner: Jennifer Sr. of The Atlantic

feature photography

Winners: Adnan Abidi, Sana Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters, honored for photos in Corona times in India


Winner: Melinda Heinberger


Winner: Salamisha Tillet, The New York Times

Illustrated reporting and commentary

Winners: Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey

audio reporting

Winner: Employees of Futuro Media and PRX


Winner: The Netanyas, Writer – Joshua Cohen


Winner: Fat Ham, by James Ijameso


Winner: Chasing Me to My Grave


WINNER: Frank: Sonnets, by Diane Seuss

general non-fiction

Winner: The Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival and Hope in an American City, by Andrea Elliott


Winner: Raven Chacon for Voiceless Mass