Himanta Sarma, Biren Singh, Neiphiu Rio, Manik Saha… open luck by leaving Congress, BJP made Chief Minister

In Tripura, Chief Minister Biplab Deb surprised everyone by suddenly submitting his resignation to the Governor on Saturday. By evening, the BJP high command announced the name of the new Chief Minister of the state. Manik Saha will be the new Chief Minister of Tripura. However, this is not the first experiment by the BJP. Earlier changes in CM posts were seen in Uttarakhand, Gujarat and Karnataka. During this, the fate of many leaders who left the Congress was exposed. The saffron party has offered the chief minister’s post to strong leaders who have left the Congress.

Assam: Himanta Biswa Sarma

Himanta Biswa Sarma became the 15th Chief Minister of Assam in the year 2021. He was given this responsibility in place of Sarbananda Sonowal. Himanta left the Congress and joined the BJP in 2015. Sarma’s vigorous campaigning in the 2016 assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections was believed to be one of the reasons for the BJP’s victory. Himanta has been elected MLA for the fifth consecutive time from the Jalukbari assembly seat of Assam. Himanta Biswa Sarma was made a cabinet minister in Sonowal’s government.

In the 2021 elections, Sarma won by a huge margin of over 1 lakh votes. He was made the convener of the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) by the BJP. Sarma made a big contribution in bringing the BJP to power in many states of the Northeast.

Related news

Flood situation due to incessant rains in Assam, Army engaged in rescue operation

2,487 new corona cases were found on the last day, 13 patients died;  Active cases crossed 17 thousand

2,487 new corona cases were found on the last day, active cases crossed 17 thousand

Delhi Police reached Jaipur to arrest Rohit Joshi, son of Gehlot's minister, there are allegations of rape

Delhi Police reached Jaipur to arrest Gehlot’s minister’s son

Today is the last day of Congress Chintan Shivir, understand how G23 leaders were successful in making their point

Today is the last day of Congress Chintan Shivir, G23 leaders were successful in making their point

Manipur: N Biren Singh

N Biren Singh quit the Congress in 2016 and joined the BJP just a year before the 2017 assembly elections in Manipur. After 15 years a non-Congress government was formed in the state and BJP made N Biren Singh the CM. Biren Singh became the first CM of BJP in Manipur. He showed his mettle by winning the floor test of the assembly with the support of 33 MLAs of BJP and its allies.

Earlier, Biren Singh was a minister in the government led by Ibobi Singh, but he resigned from the Pradesh Congress Committee. In the same year, in the election of 2022, BJP contested the elections in Manipur under the leadership of N Biren Singh and won. Biren started his career as a football player. He later joined the Border Security Force (BSF). After that he turned to journalism. N Biren Singh won the election for the fifth time from Hingang seat.

Nagaland: Neiphiu Rio

Neiphiu Rio is the first Chief Minister of Nagaland to have won three consecutive elections. Rio was a senior Congress leader. He left the Congress in 2002. He had resigned due to differences with the then CM SC Jamir over the Nagaland issue. After that Ryo joined the Naga People’s Front (NPF). It was associated with local political parties and the BJP. The Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) was formed under his leadership. This alliance won the assembly elections in 2003. The Congress was thrown out of power after 10 years and Neiphiu Rio became the Chief Minister of Nagaland for the first time. In 2008 the DAN coalition formed the government in the state and Rio became the CM.

In 2013, the NPF won a majority in Nagaland. Rio became CM for the third time. Later in January 2018, Rio joined the National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) after the NPF broke its alliance with the BJP. Before the elections in 2018, Rio had forged an alliance with the BJP. After winning the election, he became the Chief Minister with the BJP. Neiphu started his political journey in 1989 and was the CM of Nagaland during 2003-08, 2008-13 and 2013-14.

Tripura: Manik Saha

Manik Saha left Congress and joined BJP in 2016. After joining the BJP, Manik was made the state party president in 2020 after four years. He also became the President of Tripura Cricket Association. Saha was recently nominated to the Rajya Sabha and has now been announced as the new CM. Manik Saha is a dentist by profession and his image is considered very clean. Manik is not considered to be of any camp in BJP.