Gujarat elections: BJP released third list, Congress candidate Alpesh Thakor got ticket from Gandhinagar

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced the names of 12 more candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections, fielding Alpesh Thakor from the Gandhinagar South seat. Thakor, one of the faces of the anti-BJP movement in the state during the 2017 elections, joined the BJP in 2019. He had won on a Congress ticket in 2017, but lost his Radhanpur seat in a bypoll in 2019.

Two of the 12 candidates announced are women. The BJP has fielded Lavingji Thakor from Radhanpur and VJ Jhala from Himantanagar. The BJP has given tickets to Rajulben Desai and Ritaben Patel from Patan and Gandhinagar. Apart from this, Babu Singh Jadhav will contest from Vatva. On Saturday too, the BJP had released a list of 6 candidates. In this too two women were given tickets.

Mahendrabhai Pandalia from Dhoraji, Mulubhai Bera from Khambhalia, Dheliben Maldebhai from Kutiana, Sejal Rajeev Kumar Pandya from Bhavnagar East, Hitesh Devji Vasava from Dediapada and Sandeep Desai from Chorayasi. In the first list, 160 candidates were announced of which 14 were women. There were 13 SC and 24 tribal candidates. Of these, 69 candidates were given re-tickets.

With the third list, the BJP has declared candidates for 178 seats for the 182-member state assembly elections. Voting is to be held in the state in two phases on December 1 and 5.

Get the more latest news updates