Double blow to Congress in Gujarat, after Brar now Bhavesh Katara resigned from the post of MLA

Congress MLA from Jhalod in Dahod district of Gujarat Bhavesh Katara on Wednesday night resigned from the membership of the assembly. He is the third Congress MLA to resign in the last two days after Mohan Singh Rathwa and Bhagwan Brar. An official statement said Katara went to the residence of Speaker Nimaben Acharya and submitted his resignation to him.

Katara’s resignation comes at a time when the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is busy finalizing the names of candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections. Katara may join BJP on Thursday. Earlier, Rathwa and Brar had also resigned from the Congress and joined the BJP. Voting for the Gujarat Assembly will be held in two phases on December 1 and December 5. Counting of votes will take place on December 8.

Let us inform that earlier on Wednesday, in a setback to the Congress for the second consecutive day ahead of the Gujarat Assembly elections, its senior MLA Bhagwan Brar resigned from the MLA post and primary membership and joined the BJP. Brar, 63, who won the Talala seat in Gir Somnath district in 2017, sent his resignation letter to Congress’ Gujarat unit president Jagdish Thakor and also submitted his resignation to its president Neemaben Acharya.

A day earlier, 10-time Congress MLA and tribal leader Mohan Singh Rathwa had resigned from the post of MLA and joined the BJP. Brar, known as Bhaga Brar, was welcomed in Ahmedabad by BJP state general secretary Pradeepsinh Vaghela on joining the party.

Get the more latest news updates