Davos conference: CMs of three states including Nirmala Sitharaman will attend, more than 100 CEOs will also reach


About 300 government leaders, including 50 heads of state or government, are expected to attend the World Economic Forum’s annual meeting in the Swiss ski resort town of Davos later this month. Indian participants will include Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman as well as three chief ministers and over 100 CEOs.


These three chief ministers can attend

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, his Karnataka counterpart Basavaraj S Bommai as well as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy are expected to hold the World Economic Forum’s annual meeting for 2022 in Davos from May 22-26. Maharashtra minister and chief minister Uddhav Thackeray’s son Aaditya Thackeray and Telangana minister and chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao’s son KT Rama Rao will also be there.

Besides, the Tamil Nadu government is likely to set up a special lounge in Davos for the duration of the summit, while leaders from some other states are also likely to visit the Swiss resort town. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and some senior Union ministers are also expected to attend the Davos summit, one of the most high-profile gatherings of world leaders globally. But there is no official announcement about their participation so far.

At least 100 Indian CEOs, as well as hundreds of business and political leaders from around the world, have already registered for the five-day event. More than 300 public figures, including heads of state and government, are expected to attend the annual meeting. The annual summit was scheduled to be held in January but had to be postponed due to the Omicron variant of the Covid-19 virus. Now it will start from 22nd May and will continue till 26th May.