BJP released new list of candidates in Gujarat, Shah told who will become CM after winning

BJP has released the third list of 12 more candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections. Alpesh Thakor has been fielded from Gandhinagar South. Alpesh Thakor was one of the faces of the anti-BJP movement in the state during the 2017 elections. He had won in 2017 on a Congress ticket. In 2019, he joined the BJP. Thakor had lost his Radhanpur seat in the 2019 by-elections. The BJP has so far declared candidates for 178 seats.

Meanwhile, Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday said that Bhupendra Patel would continue as the chief minister of Gujarat if the party wins a majority in next month’s assembly elections. It has become clear from Shah’s statement that Patel is the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate. The BJP in the state is eyeing to retain power for the seventh consecutive time in the home state of Prime Minister Modi and Shah. The Union Home Minister said that if the BJP gets a majority in Gujarat, Bhupendra Patel will be the next chief minister.

It is known that in September 2021, Bhupendra Patel took over the post of Chief Minister in place of Vijay Rupani. It was a move by the BJP leadership that surprised many. Patel was elected MLA for the first time from Ghatlodia constituency. He has been made the candidate from the same seat this time also. On the other hand, the Aam Aadmi Party has declared Isudan Gadhvi as the chief ministerial candidate.

The Congress has decided not to announce its chief ministerial candidate in these elections. BJP president JP Nadda said that there was a time when leaders used to forget their promises after elections but Prime Minister Modi has changed the pattern by bringing ‘report card politics’. Modi ji has given such a government which gives answers and is responsible. The BJP president was addressing a program of the party.

Get the more latest news updates