Bihar elections: Owaisi wins 5 seats in Seemanchal;

  • Post category:Latest News

In the Bihar Assembly elections, Asaduddin Owaisi’s party All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has made a deep impact in Seemanchal by winning five seats. Also, its impact has been seen in Mithila and Kosi areas. Such performance of AIMIM caused a deep setback to the expectations of the Mahagathbandhan in the Seemanchal region to perform better this time than the 2015 election.

AIMIM fielded candidates in 16 seats in Seemanchal region, presenting itself as an alternative to RJD and Congress. The party won five seats in the Seemanchal region, including Amaur, Kochadham, Jokihat, Bayasi and Bahadurganj seats, giving a tough fight to the NDA and the Grand Alliance. Although AIMIM failed to win the Kishanganj seat, its candidate Mohammad Qamrul Hoda received 41,727 votes. AIMIM finished third on this seat and Congress won. Similarly, AIMIM performed well in several seats in Seemanchal, Kosi and Mithila.

Out of the 24 seats in Seemanchal region, the RJD in the outgoing assembly, the Mahagathbandhan including the Congress had 14 seats, the NDA had 9 seats and the AIMIM had one seat. AHIMIM’s better performance in Seemanchal in Bihar elections 2020 has shocked the expectations of the grand alliance. Asked about this, Asaduddin Owaisi said that the people of Seemanchal know who can fight their battles, accordingly the people of that place have chosen us. He said that he will contest elections for the expansion of the party and now if anyone says anything, then speak but they will continue their work.

Read also: After NDA victory, Sushil Modi – Nitish will be CM, no confusion

If we look at the Bihar assembly election result data, the current MLA of Congress Abdul Jalil Mastan was defeated by Akhturul Iman of AIMIM in Amour seat of Purnia district. In the same Bahadurganj seat, Tausif Alam of Congress was defeated by Anjar Naeemi of AIMIM. On Jokihat in Araria district, the RJD-dominated seat, Owaisi had pitted his younger brother Shahnawaz Alam against Sarfaraz Alam, the elder son of former Union Minister Taslimuddin, and Shahnawaz Alam won this seat. Muhammad Izahar Asafi of AIMIM defeated the current JDU MLA Mujahid Alam in the Kochadham assembly seat. Syed Ruknuddin of AIMIM wrested this seat from Haji Abdus Subhan of RJD on Biasi seat.

In the course of the assembly election campaign, Asaduddin Owaisi tried to create political atmosphere in his favor by doing rallies in ten days. Owaisi’s party fielded candidates for 24 seats in the Bihar elections. His party formed a coalition of six parties, including Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP, Bahujan Samaj Party. Asaduddin Owaisi’s party managed to win this seat after a spectacular performance in the Kishanganj assembly seat by-election after the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Some Congress and RJD leaders accuse Asaduddin Owaisi of acting as BJP’s ‘BTM’. However, Owaisi says that if we lost the Grand Alliance due to our Bihar elections, then why was it defeated in Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka? Our party did not contest there.

Read in Hindi

Leave a Reply