Bihar Assembly Elections: Nitish Kumar, who won 6 Lok Sabha elections, always chose the path of the Legislative Council to become the Chief Minister.

  • Post category:Latest News

Assembly elections in Bihar are in their last phase. The Chief Minister of Bihar is once again in the race to become the Chief Minister, who contested and won six consecutive Lok Sabha elections in his political career. However, he adopted the path of the Legislative Council from the beginning to become the Chief Minister. Let us tell you that Bihar is one of the six Indian states which has both lower and upper houses like Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha of Parliament.

Nitish Kumar contested his first assembly election in 1977 as a Janata Dal candidate from Harnaut constituency, but lost the election. After a gap of nine years, he again tried and won the same seat in 1985.

Also read- How is the third phase of Bihar election the biggest challenge for Congress?

Nitish Kumar is not the only Chief Minister who chose the path of the Legislative Council. Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray and Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath are also members of the Legislative Council of their states.

A senior JDU official said on condition of anonymity that Nitish Kumar abstained from contesting elections, keeping in mind his huge responsibilities as party chief and head of state government during the assembly elections. He said, “He is the head of JDU and Bihar government. They have to campaign across the state in elections. If he contests from a particular seat, he will have to spend more time on his seat. To the great advantage of the party, he refrains from contesting elections. ”

Also read- Bihar Election: Election campaign will stop on 78 seats in last phase

His party colleagues argue that Nitish Kumar’s public life is underlined by the fact that he led six Lok Sabha elections in 1989 (9th Lok Sabha) to 2004 (14th Lok Sabha) before heading the Bihar government in 2005. Live

There are also many examples of those who became Prime Ministers while being Rajya Sabha MPs at the national level. Former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh was a Rajya Sabha member (he lost to South Delhi in the Lok Sabha elections), before that Inder Kumar Gujral was also a member of the Upper House. Indira Gandhi was also the first Rajya Sabha member when she became Prime Minister.

Many Lok Sabha and Assembly members have claimed that the elections to the lower house are more important politically as they are directly elected by the people. But over time, it has become clear that members of the Upper House have more political authority and influence. In the present central government also two senior ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and S. Jaishankar are members of Rajya Sabha.

Read in Hindi

Leave a Reply