Big announcement: 52 players including Neeraj Chopra and dumb wrestler will get Bhim Award, five lakh cash and 5000 rupees every month


The Haryana government will present the Bhim Award to 52 players from the state, including gold medalists Neeraj Chopra and Virendra Singh alias Dumb Pehelwan in Tokyo Olympics. Governor Bandaru Dattatreya will reward the players in this program to be held at Indradhanush Auditorium in Panchkula on 23rd June. The names of 12 new players have been added to the final list late on Monday evening and one player’s name has been removed.

These awards were pending for the last four years. The Sports Department gives Bhim Award to 11 players in different categories every year. The department had received 13 applications in 2017-18. 58 players applied in 2018-19, 69 in 2019-20 and 71 in 2020-21. Players have been selected from the applications received from 2017-18 till now.

On February 15, the Sports Department had released the preliminary list of 41 players. Also, objections were sought for ten days. Now after revision, the final list has been prepared. The list includes names of wrestler Bajrang Punia, boxer Manoj Kumar and Virendra Singh aka dumb wrestler, besides Neeraj Chopra, who won gold for the country in the Olympics.

In Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics 2020, Haryana’s medalist wrestler Ravi Kumar, hockey players Surendra Kumar and Sumit and para players Sumit Antil, Manish Narwal, Singhraj Adhana, Yogesh Kathuria, Harvinder Singh have also been selected for the award. Players have been selected on the basis of their performance.

they will get award

Year 2014-15

Nirmala Devi Para Athlete Sonepat

Year 2017-18 (Deaf, Blind and Special Category)

  • name game
  • Virendra Singh Wrestling
  • Isha Khasa Special Olympics TT
  • Amit Kumar wrestling
  • Anita Wrestling
  • sonia boxing
  • Deepak Lather Weight Lifting
  • Pradeep Akuatrien
  • Sandeep Narwal Kabaddi
  • Karmajyoti Para Athlete
  • Sunil Phogat Para Athlete
Year 2018-19
  • name game
  • Lalita Wrestling
  • Manoj Kumar Boxing
  • sombir wrestling
  • Poonam Rani Hockey
  • Sakshi Kabaddi
  • rimpi handball
  • Amit Athletics Para
  • Reena Rani Athletics Para
  • Sube Singh Athlete Special Olympics
  • Deepak Shooting Para
  • savita punia hockey
  • bijendra singh dragon boat

Year 2019-20

  • name game
  • Neeraj Chopra Athletics
  • Anish Shooting
  • Manjit Singh Athletics
  • Vinod Kumar wrestling
  • ravindra dragon boat
  • Pradeep Kabaddi
  • monica hockey
  • savita hockey
  • Navjot Core Hockey
  • young badminton
  • Ekta Bhayan Athletics Para
  • Rahul Athletics Special Olympics

year 2020-21

name game

  • Amit Boxing
  • pinky wrestling
  • bajrang punia wrestling
  • garima chaudhary join
  • divya satija swimming
  • sonia boxing
  • manu bhaker shooting
  • abhishek verma shooting
  • Ritu Dragon Boat
  • sonali taekwondo para
  • Dharambir Athletics Para

2020 olympics para olympics

  • Ravi Kumar – Wrestling
  • Surendra Kumar- Hockey
  • Sumit – Hockey
  • Sumit Antil – Para Athlete
  • Manish Narwal – Para Shooting
  • Singh Raj Para- Shooting
  • Yogesh Kathunia- Para Athlete
  • Harvinder Singh – Para Archery

Five lakh cash and five thousand will be available every month

The players who receive the Bhim Award are given five lakh rupees along with the award by the Haryana government. Apart from this, an amount of five thousand rupees per month is also given to these players.


Get more latest news updates