Who are the three scientists who got the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, what will their discovery be of use to the world?

The names of the Nobel Prize winners for Chemistry in the field of science have been announced. This time three scientists will be jointly given the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. These scientists are Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morton Medel and Kay Berry Sharpless. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the names of the three scientists. According to the Academy, all three scientists have been selected for their remarkable contribution towards click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry.

Bertozzi is affiliated with Stanford University in California. Meldl is from the University of Copenhagen in Denmark and Sharpless is associated with Scripps Research in California. Sharpless previously won the Nobel Prize in 2001. He is the fifth person to receive the award twice.

Why was the selection made?

According to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, all three scientists have been selected for the Nobel Prize for developing a method of simultaneous fragmentation of molecules into equal parts. The scientists’ work is known as click chemistry and bioorthogonal reactions. The Academy’s general secretary, Hans Allegren, announced the winners on Wednesday at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden.

How will this discovery work?

This technology, known as click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry, is used globally to locate cells and track biological processes. The click chemistry and bioorthogonal processes developed by these three scientists are used to make cancer drugs, perform DNA mapping and create materials for a specific purpose.

Let us now know about the three scientists in detail.

Caroline Ruth Bertozzi

Born on October 10, 1966, Carolyn Ruth Bertozzi is an American scientist. She works in both chemistry and biology and is known for her work on bioorthogonal chemistry. She is associated with Stanford University and teaches in the Department of Humanities and Sciences there. She is also a researcher at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and director of the Molecular Foundry, the Nanoscience Research Center at Rains Berkeley National Laboratory. At the age of 33, he has received the MacArthur Genius Award. Along with this, she has also received the Lemelson-MIT Prize Faculty Award.

Prof. Corolin’s lab focuses on changes in cell surface glycosylation associated with cancer, inflammation and bacterial infections. He has been honored with many honors and awards for his research achievements. She is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has been awarded the Lemelson-MIT Prize, the Heinrich Welland Prize and the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship.

Carl Barry Sharpless

Carl Barry Sharpless is an American chemist. Born on April 28, 1941, in Philadelphia, Sharpless is best known for his work on stereoselective reactions and click chemistry. Sharpless has received the Nobel Prize for the second time. Prior to this, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2001 for his research on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions.

Sharpless wanted to study medicine after graduating from Friends Central School in 1959, but his research head advised him to continue studying chemistry. He did his PhD in organic chemistry from Stanford University in 1968. After that, after doing a post-doctorate at Stanford University, he went to Harvard University. There he studied enzymology in Konrad E Bloch’s lab. He was a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for many years. At Stanford, he discovered Sharpless asymmetric epoxidation. He was also a professor at Stanford University.

morton meldl

Morten P. Meldl is a Danish chemist. Born on 16 January 1954 in Denmark, Morten is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen. He is known for his CuAAC-click reaction. After completing his MSc in Chemical Engineering from the Danish Technical University in 1981, he completed his PhD from the Danish Institute of Organic Chemistry in 1983. From 1988 to 2011, he held different positions in the same university. He was the leader of synthesis at the Carlsberg Lab and became a professor in 2003. He is known for his development of new techniques in combinatorial chemistry and peptide chemistry.

Get the more Knowledge information