75 Years of Independence: Pin code was started in the country on 15th August 1972

75 Years of Independence: Pin code was started in the country on 15th August 1972

Before the 1970s in India, letters were the main means of communication. Before 1970, the postal department had to face difficulties due to different languages ​​and multiple places with the same name. To deal with this problem, the postal department gave birth to the pin code, so that every area has its own identity, just like the identity of the person is his Aadhaar number. Former Additional Secretary, Union Ministry of Communications Shri Ram Bhikaji Velankar He is called the father of Pincode in India. Due to his efforts, the pin code system was started in India on 15 August 1972. At that time the country was divided into a total of 9 zones in which 8 zones were given to the country while the 9th Army Postal Zone was kept separate. After the introduction of the pin code system in the postal department, communication became quite simple.

Pin code introduced in India

Pin code was introduced in the country on 15 August 1972. meaning of pin postal index number It happens. At that time the country was divided into 9 zones and each zone was given a different number. It was started in 1972 by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar. Pin code is made up of 6 numbers. Every digit of this code is special which gives complete information about your area. Each of its numbers is made for a particular area only. With the help of this information, the delivery of goods can be done at the right place.

What is the meaning of 6 digit pin

A total of six numbers were kept in the pin code. The first number at the beginning indicates the state. The second number identifies the sub-region. At the same time, the third number identifies the district of the state. While the last 3 digits of the pin code identify the post office.

Geographical area was divided into 8 parts

On 15 August 1972, when the pin code system was introduced in the whole country, at that time India was divided into 8 geographical areas and the ninth zone was kept as a reserve for the Army Postal Service. Today there are total 19101 pins in the country covering 154725. This does not include the Army Postal Service.

8 postal zones of the country

1 North Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir

2. Northern Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand

3. Western Rajasthan and Gujarat

4. Western Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh

5. Southern Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka

6. Southern Kerala and Tamil Nadu

7. East West Bengal, Orissa and Northeast

8. East Bihar and Jharkhand

Get the more Knowledge information