TMC Party Status: EC snatches Mamta Banerjee’s national party status from TMC, party may challenge the decision

TMC National Party Status: The Election Commission of India on Monday (April 10) withdrew the national party status from the Trilamool Congress. After this decision of Election Commission, TMC is looking for legal option. Party sources told that TMC can challenge the decisions of the Election Commission. News agency ANI gave this information.

TMC is exploring legal options to challenge the decision of ECI of withdrawing the national party status of TMC: Party Sources

— ANI (@ANI) April 10, 2023

TMAC MP’s reaction

TMC MP Saugata Roy has reacted on the matter. He said, “TMC has had to overcome difficulties, we will overcome this too. We will keep doing what we have to do, it will not make any difference. Don’t want to speak much on this right now, will speak later."text-align: justify;">Video of Saugata Roy’s statement

| Kolkata, West Bengal | Trinamool Congress has overcome many obstacles, we will overcome this too. We will continue to do what we have to do, it will not make any difference: TMC MP Saugata Roy on ECI withdrawing national party status of Trinamool Congress

— ANI (@ANI) April 10, 2023

These parties also lost the status of national party

According to the Election Commission, apart from TMC, NCP and CPI have also lost their national party status. The commission said that the state level party status of TMC will continue in West Bengal and Tripura. According to the commission, the national party status of the Aam Aadmi Party will remain intact. AAP was accorded this status on the basis of its electoral performance in four states- Delhi, Goa, Punjab and Gujarat.

Now they are national parties

According to the Election Commission, the list of national parties now includes the BJP, the Congress, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), the National People’s Party (NPP) and the AAP.

Same, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas Paswan) will continue to be recognized as state party in Nagaland and Tipra Motha Party in Tripura. The commission said that on the basis of its performance in the North-Eastern states, the national party status has been withdrawn from the NCP. 

Also read- Election Commission grants national party status to AAP, Sharad Pawar’s NCP and Mamta Banerjee’s TMC lose it

Get the more latest India news updates

Scroll to Top